Weather Forecast


VIDEO: Four champs repeat at Resorters

The 2013 Resorters champions include (left to right) Alexandria's Steve Herzog, Senior Division; Alexandria's Tom Eidsvold, Masters Division; St. Cloud's Daryl Schomer, Executive Division; Alexandria's Casey Vangsness, Men's Division; Monterey, California's Ryan Swedberg, Junior 13-15 Division; Maple Grove's Nathaniel Adams, Junior 10-12 Division and Samantha Falk of Glenwood in the Women's Division. (Echo Press photo by Al Edenloff)3 / 3

For the third straight year, a Vangsness stands at the top of the Resorters Golf Tournament's Men's Championship at the Alexandria Golf Club.

But this time it's Casey Vangsness, the younger brother of the 2011 and 2012 champion, Ben Vangsness.

After edging Jeremy Decko of Scottsdale, Arizona in Saturday's semifinals 3-2, Vangsness of Alexandria toppled medalist Nick Heinen of Edmond, Oklahoma for the crown. He tamed the course with three birdie wins to start the match and played solidly throughout the afternoon to pick up his first-ever Resorters title.

Two other Alexandrians conquered their opponents in the match-play finals: Steve Herzog successfully defended his title in the Senior Men's division with a 6-4 win over Greg Mattson of Becker and Tom Eidsvold repeated as Masters' champion by knocking off Ron Clayton of Sarasota, Florida, two-up.

Two golfers who were teammates on the 2010 Minnewaska Lakers state championship team, Sam Falk and Sarah Roering, met up for the Women's Division Championship. Falk surged out to an early lead and held on to win, 2-1.

The afternoon's longest duel was in the Executive Men's Division and pitted defending champion Daryl Schomer of St. Cloud against Lino Lake's Tim Peterson, the 2011 titlist. The match went all the way to the 18th green where Schomer prevailed, one-up.

In the Junior 13-15 Division, Ryan Swedberg of Monterey, California was the big winner. He defeated Andrew Lindberg of Coppell, Texas in the finals, one-up.

In the Junior 10-12 Division, Nathaniel Adams of Maple Grove, last year's champion, did it again. He edged Gabe McKown of Lenexa, Kansas in the final, 3-1.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236