Weather Forecast


Viking Speedway: Schroeder grabs first win of the season

Dave Schroeder held off numerous challenges from Austin Arneson and Jason Thoennes to claim his first Viking Speedway Modfied win of the season this past weekend.

The win comes less than a month after Schroeder destroyed his car in a violent roll over at the speedway. Other drivers who found their way to victory lane in WISSOTA AMSOIL Dirt Track Series action included, Jeff Wildung in the WISSOTA Late Models, Jeff Crouse in the WISSOTA Super Stocks, Dusty Bitzan in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, and Adam Burrows in the WISSOTA Street Stocks.


Dusty Bitzan earned a feature win in the Midwest Modifieds as he held off Jamie Thorstad down the stretch.

Bitzan grabbed a late lead using the low side of the track as Thorstad tried to get back to the lead using the high side of the track. The caution came out for the final time in the event before Bitzan led Thorstad and Olson to the green with seven laps remaining, and held off a hard charging Thorstad to claim the feature win.

Thorstad finished second, Olson third, Ryan Schleusner was fourth, and Josh Muzik, who got married the night before, rounded out the top five.


Eight WISSOTA Street Stocks lined up for the next event of the evening.

West Fargo driver Adam Burrows, wasted no time using his front row starting spot to jump to the lead. Burrows used the high side of the track and continued to build his lead lap after lap.

The real battle on the speedway was for the second spot between Justin Vogel, Brett Miller, Ryan Satter, and Mark Blom. With eight laps remaining Vogel was able to move into the second position and set his sights on Burrows, as the laps continued to count down.

Miller was able to clear Satter and Blom as well and moved into the third spot, but up front it was all Burrows, and he raced to his seventh win of the 2013 season. Vogel finished a distant second, Miller third, Satter fourth, and Blom was scored fifth.


Local drivers, Matt Miller and Cody Lee, manned the front row for the 20 lap WISSOTA Super Stock feature. Head flagman, Layne Roberts, dropped the green and Lee wasted no time moving his No. 50 machine to the high side of the speedway and jumped to the lead.

Lee would lead lap one, with fourth starter Jeff Crouse on his bumper as the leaders completed the first lap. Crouse was able to find his way around Lee on the next lap and began to build a large lead.

Crouse continued to pad his advantage and raced unchallenged to the feature win. Shipley came home second, Stepan third, Lee fourth, and Dalton driver Trevor Saurer was fifth.



Twenty-three WISSOTA Modifieds took to the grid next for their 20 lap main event. Schroeder and Arneson led the field to the green.

At the drop of the green, Schroeder moved his GRT car to the top of the track with Arneson and Jason Thoennes in tow. Arneson drove his car hard into turn three and was able to make a pass of Schroeder on lap two, only to see Schroeder reclaim the lead on the following lap.

With Schroeder building a commanding lead up front, Arneson and Thoennes locked horns in the battle for the number two spot. Schroeder led Thoennes and Arneson to the green once more after a caution came out, and Thoennes made a bold move on the bottom of the track and was able to sneak by Schroeder as the cars exited turn two.

All Thoennes' work would be washed away, though, when the caution came back out before the cars could complete a lap. This put Schroeder back on the point and this time Dave's car handled better in turns one and two allowing him to keep the lead.

Thoennes continued to work the low side of the track in an effort to stay ahead of Arneson, and the duo would make contact with six laps remaining sending Arneson over the banking in turn three. The officials determined that Thoennes initiated the contact and he was sent to the tail of the field, while Arneson reclaimed the second spot.

With the green back out, Schroeder continued to dominate and cruised to his first Viking win of the season.



The final event of the evening belonged to the WISSOTA Late Models.

Scott Lehn and Clarence Washburn paced the ten car field to the green and the duo would race side by side for the first two laps. As the leaders completed lap three, sixth starter Jeff Wildung moved to the high side of the speedway and claimed the lead.

Wildung began to stretch his lead and proved uncatchable down the stretch as he raced to his second straight Late Model win at the speedway.

The Viking Speedway will be busy this week as the ninth annual Minnesota Modified Nationals presented by Performance Auto of Fargo are set to take place over the weekend. Friday July 5 will feature an open practice night from 6-9 p.m. with racing action beginning on Saturday July 6 at 6 p.m.

Sunday's show begins at 3 p.m. and will end with the 60 lap, $7,000 to win WISSOTA Modified feature.

Late Models

LATE MODELS - Feature: Jeff Wildung, Jeremy Keller, Rick Nelson, Matt Aukland, Clarence Washburn, Scott Lehn, Brad Parson, Casey Meyer, Josh Johnson, Shawn Meyer

WISSOTA MODIFIEDS - Feature: Dave Schroeder, Austin Arneson, Cody Skytland, Jeff Wildung, Brady Gerdes, Josh Thoennes, Dennis Bitzan, Danny Bayer, Jake Wildman, Jeremy Nelson, Blake Jegtvig, Jason Thoennes, Curt Lund, Michael Johnson, Jeff Flaten, Todd Berg, Kyle Koehntop, Mark Esala, Brett Hoium, Mark Noble, Dale Mathison, Matt Aukland, Mike Storck

WISSOTA SUPER STOCKS - Feature: Jeff Crouse, Dave Shipley, Jon Stepan, Cody Lee, Trevor Saurer, Derrick Lemke, Matt Miller, Mike Peterson, Brian Hellerman, Chris Winter, Jeff Kluver, Derek Quinn, Dominic Baker, Rocky Yeats

WISSOTA STREET STOCKS - Feature: Adam Burrows, Justin Vogel, Brett Miller, Ryan Satter, Mark Blom, Durand Peterson, Shane Kruger, Vern Stewart

MIDWEST MODIFIEDS - Feature: Dusty Bitzan, Jamie Thorstad, Shawn Olson, Ryan Schleusner, Josh Muzik, Chris Mensen, Justin Froemming, Brandon Spanswick, Haley Lee, Zach Hintermeister, Andrew Bangsund, Tyler Spanswick, Corey Storck, Jason Hoffman, Tyler Vanderby