Weather Forecast


Viking Speedway: Two-time national champ holds off field for Mod win

Two-time WISSOTA Modified national champion Blake Jegtvig held off a hard-charging Cody Skytland and picked up the $750 payday on Beck's Mod Night at the high flying Viking Speedway half-mile.

Other drivers who found their way to victory lane included Travis Saurer in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Justin Vogel in the WISSOTA Street Stocks and Cory Tammen in the WISSOTA Super Stocks. Benson driver Ben Johnson picked up his second straight win in the pure stock division.

Twenty Midwest Modifieds lined up to do battle in the first feature event of the evening. Rookie driver Andrew Bangsund and local driver Zach Hintermeister led the field to the green, with Hintermeister jumping to the lead and Bangsund sliding into the second spot.

Hintermeister led the field to the green after a caution flag with 10 laps remaining, and as the cars entered turn one, Travis Saurer put his 21x machine on the cushion and raced to the lead. He continued to dominate and he raced to his second straight win.

Rookie Durand Peterson and Chris Winter sat on the front row of the 13-car Street Stock feature, but fourth place starter Mark Blom quickly moved around the duo and raced into the lead with Justin Vogel in tow.

Blom and Vogel locked horns for the top spot and Vogel was able to make the pass on Blom exiting turn four on lap six.

After a brief red flag period, Vogel led Blom and Schmidt to the green. Before the field could complete a lap, Ryan Pommerer spun in turn four, bringing out the caution.

During the caution period, Schmidt pulled his car to the infield with mechanical problems. Vogel led the field to the green and jumped back to the lead with Blom in tow.

Vogel put his number 10 machine on the high side of the track to claim his first win of the season.

Derek Quinn, a rookie in the Super Stock class, and Cory Tammen paced 12-car field to the green for their 20-lap feature event. Tammen wasted no time jumping to the lead as Quinn battled with Jon Stepan and Trevor Saurer for the second spot.

The three drivers were quickly joined by eighth starter Jeff Crouse as he raced up to join the party. Crouse worked his way around Quinn and Saurer, then raced up to battle Stepan.

With eight laps remaining, Crouse made a power move to the low side of the speedway and passed Tammen as the cars came to the flag stand. Tammen used the low side of the speedway to regain the lead as the cars exited turn two and headed down the back chute.

As the cars entered turn three, Tammen drove his car to the low side and Crouse picked the high side. Crouse completed the pass and jumped to the lead. Crouse led the next lap until the yellow flew for Cody Lee.

During the caution period, Crouse's car lost the radiator on his machine, ending his evening. This put Tammen back in the lead with Stepan and Saurer on his bumper. It was apparent that no one had anything for Tammen as he raced to the win.

The final event of the evening belonged to the high powered Modifieds. Blake Jegtvig and Brett Hoium led the 22-car field to the green and Jegtvig quickly bolted to the lead over Hoium and Cody Skytland. Skytland was able to clear Hoium on lap three and began to close Jegtvig's advantage lap after lap.

The red flag flew on lap five for a scary incident entering turn three. Glenwood driver Dave Schroeder rolled violently off the banking and ended up in the trees off turn three. Schroeder was not injured and the track crew quickly went to work to clean up the incident.

With the track cleared, Jegtivg bolted to the lead with Skytland in tow. With seven laps remaining, Skytland worked his way to the bottom of the track in an attempt to pass Jegtvig. Skytland's car hit a rough patch and his car washed up the track, allowing Jegtvig to stretch his advantage.

The margin between the two continued over the remaining six laps as Jegtvig raced to the win.




Feature: Blake Jegtvig, Cody Skytland, Brett Hoium, Brady Gerdes, Kyle Koehntop, Jason Thoennes, Josh Thoennes, Travis Saurer, Dave Cain, Mike Storck, Dennis Bitzan, Jeremy Nelson, Jake Wildman, Brandon Aggen, Phil Braun, Terry Engebretson, Jeff Flaten, Delray Dextra, Dave Schroeder, Danny Bayer, Todd Berg, Mark Esala.

Heat 1: Saurer, Gerdes, Jegtvig, Ja. Thoennes, Nelson, Schroeder, Aggen, Bayer.

Heat 2: Hoium, Skytland, Bitzan, Engebretson, Braun, Dextra, Wildman.

Heat 3: Koehntop, Jo. Thoennes, Cain, Esala, Flaten, Berg, Storck.


Feature: Cory Tammen, Jon Stepan, Trevor Saurer, Mike Peterson, Derek Quinn, Derrick Lemke, Alan Johnson, Matt Miller, Cody Lee, Jeff Crouse, Rocky Yeats, Jeff Kluver.

Heat 1: Stepan, Saurer, Tammen, Miller, Yeats, Lee.

Heat 2: Crouse, Quinn, Peterson, Lemke, Johnson, Kluver.


Feature: Justin Vogel, Mark Blom, Brett Miller, Ryan Pommerer, Kurt Becken, Tiffany Maus-Krippner, Luke Lick, Vern Stewart, Durand Peterson, Brad Schmidt, Ryan Satter, Adam Burrows, Chris Winter.

Heat 1: Schmidt, Miller, Blom, Vogel, Pommerer, Maus-Krippner, Satter.

Heat 2: Burrows, Peterson, Becken, Winter, Lick, Stewart.


Feature: Travis Saurer, Jamie Thorstad, Dennis Czech, Tim Ims, Andrew Bangsund, Josh Muzik, Dusty Bitzan, Jason Hoffman, Justin Froemming, Randy Laage, Tim Menson, Ron Saurer, Chad Vanoverbeke, Haley Lee, Tyler Vanderby, Kelly Haack, Dustin Bluhm, Shawn Olson, Zach Hintermeister, Terry Merten.

Heat 1: Czech, T. Saurer, Bangsund, Thorstad, Ims, Haack, Merten.

Heat 2: Hoffman, Bitzan, Hintermeister, Laage, R. Saurer, Vanoverbeke, Lee.

Heat 3: Olson, Froemming, Muzik, Bluhm, Vanderby, Mensen.


Feature: Ben Johnson, Lee Kramer, Jeremy McAdams, Eric Gardner.

Heat: Kramer, Johnson, McAdams, Gardner.