Weather Forecast


Boys' track: Minnewaska will be led by throwers

The Minnewaska boys' track team will be anchored by its throwing division this season as head coach Steve Hill heads into his 22nd season with the Lakers.

"The discus and shot put may be a strength of the Laker team this season," said Hill. "Throwers on the team include veterans Nathan Snider [and] junior Collin Gaffaney. Freshmen Brad Jacobs, Nelson Lundebrek, Jeff Helander, Wes Lardy and Dawson Pobuda will also be joining that crew."

Snider and senior Rujard Thurmer will serve as captains this season, as well as being returning letter winners.

Junior Ethan Anderson is a returning letter winner, along with Jacob LaFave and Jody Haeckel.

"Middle distance and distance duties will be handled by Ethan Anderson, Mat Anderson, Garret Bartels and Scott Johnson," said Hill. "Ryan Majerus and newcomers Josh Bartels and Julius Rohrbach will also be joining the squad.

"The sprinters will be led by Rujard Thurmer and junior Jack Schultenover. In addition, sophomore Jacob LaFave and freshmen Greg Helander, Howard McNeil and Marcello Arrendondo will round out the sprinting group."

The Lakers lost most of the jumpers from last year's team, leaving Minnewaska inexperienced in 2013.

"Ryan Moen and Dalton Feeken will handle the pole vault duties," said the Minnewaska coach. "Sprinters McNeil and Arrendondo will be asked to fill the long jump and triple jump spots. Feeken is returning as a high jumper, as well."

Hill, who is assisted by Jennifer Johnsrud and Susan VanDyke, as well as girls' head coach Gordy Moeller, hopes to build a well-rounded team.

"Our goal is to be a balanced track and field team, competing in all events at all of our meets," he said. "Many of our athletes will have to compete in more than one area of events in order for that to happen, but we are confident we can do it."

Montevideo and Morris Area will once again field strong West Central Conference North teams, with Morris and Staples-Motley being favored in the section.



SENIORS - Rujard Thurmer, Nathan Snider, Mat Anderson, Julius Rohrbach.

JUNIORS - Collin Gaffaney, Ethan Anderson, Jack Schultenover, Josh Bartels.

SOPHOMORES - Jacob LaFave, Ryan Moen, Jody Haeckel, Dalton Feeken, Scott Johnson.

FRESHMEN - Greg Helander, Nelson Lundebrek, Ryan Majerus, Brad Jacobs, Marcello Arrendondo, Garret Bartels, Howard McNeil, Dawson Pobuda, Jeff Helander, Wes Lardy.

8TH GRADERS - Jeff Langman, Dylan Holmes, Jordan Koubsky, Max Scott, Royce Hoeper, Dennis VanDyke, Justin Lundblad, Will Foner.

7TH GRADERS - Jackson Johnsrud, Connor Westberg, Tyler Anderson, Nolan Weisel.

COACHES - Steve Hill, head coach; Jennifer Johnsrud, assistant coach; Susan VanDyke, assistant coach.