Weather Forecast


Girls' basketball: Dorn is Little Eight MVP

Madison Dorn was selected as the Little Eight Conference's most valuable player after leading the league with 21.7 points per game. (File photo)

The Parkers Prairie girls' basketball team earned the recognition that usually comes with winning a conference title as the Little Eight Conference announced its postseason awards recently.

The Panthers had four players named all-conference in Micaela Noga, Madison Dorn, Ally Taylor and Brenna Warren. Dorn was named the league's most valuable player after leading the conference in scoring at 21.7 points per game. Noga was third on that scoring list at 18.3 points per game, while Taylor was fourth after averaging 13.5 points a night.

Parkers Prairie head coach John Noga was also honored by being named the LEC Coach of the Year. Noga led the Panthers to a 26-2 overall record and an LEC title for the fourth straight season.

Underwood added four players to the All-LEC team as well, while Brandon-Evansville had two in Megan Friedrich and Emily Friedrich. The Chargers' Carlie Steffenson and Megan Kokett were honorable-mention selections.

The Panthers came up just one game short of a state tournament appearance after falling to Ada-Borup 51-47 in the section title game. They dominated the LEC, outscoring teams by 40 points per game after holding opponents to just 27.5 points per game.




PARKERS PRAIRIE - Noga, Dorn, Taylor, Warren

UNDERWOOD - Carly Masloski, Greta Thormodson, Kaitlyn Holen, Megan Biegler

BRANDON-EVANSVILLE - M. Friedrich, E. Friedrich; Honorable mention - Steffenson, Kokett

BATTLE LAKE - Emily Marso, Katie Rilla; Honorable mention - Carly VanWatermulen

ROTHSAY - Ashley Maack; Honorable mention - Alexis Craig

ASHBY - Cassandra Jordan; Honorable mention - Amber Sundal, Madison VanSatten

HILLCREST - Abigail Monacelli; Honorable mention - Kelsey Nersten

MVP - Dorn; Coach of the Year - J. Noga