Weather Forecast


Alexandria boys' swimming and diving preview

Eight of the top 10 leading scorers return to the Cardinal boys' swimming and diving team this season, making it one of the most veteran groups in the Central Lakes Conference and Section 3A.

"This year's squad is very excited about the upcoming season, especially after last year's 6-3 dual meet record," said Cardinal head coach Mark Storhaug. "The Cardinals are ready for a try at moving up from last year's fourth place overall finish in the CLC, after a 5-3 CLC dual meet record and a fifth place finish in the league's season-ending championship meet a year ago."

Alexandria was also third at last year's Section 3A meet, but with the large number of experienced athletes on the team, the Cards are hoping to take advantage of that veteran leadership by the time tournaments roll around.

The top returning swimmer for the Redbirds is All-State and All-Conference senior Kris Aaseng, who will anchor the distance freestyle races.

"Kris qualified, competed and scored in the top eight at the State Class A meet last year in both the 200 and 500 free races," said Storhaug. "He owns the school record in the 500 free."

CLC honorable mention swimmer Eric Moe is the second leading scorer returning to compete in the sprint freestyle and butterfly events, and competed at state as a member of last year's 200 and 400 free relays.

Elliot Jacobson, a sophomore and All-CLC swimmer, is the third leading scorer and will compete in the breaststroke races.

"Elliot's place finishes in the 100-yard breaststroke got him the conference award and a trip to state last year," said Storhaug.

Other top scorers on the team are senior backstroker and individual medley swimmer Zac Bartolomeo, junior 100 butterfly competitor Mark Kallevig, as well as both sophomore Max Jacobson and Kyle Blank, who were members of the state qualifying relays, and senior Aaron Pietrowski, who competed in the 500 freestyle at state.



SENIORS - Kris Aaseng, Zac Bartolomeo, Kyle Blank, Eric Moe, Dalton Myhr, Sean Norheim, Aaron Pietrowski, Matt Russell, Jake Strand, Jordan Wallin, Ryan Wersinger, Gage Winger.

JUNIORS - Aaron Halvorson, Elliot Jacobson, Mark Kallevig, Riley Maanum, Brandon McCormick, Andrew Sheets, Michael Taillefer, Ben Tollefson.

SOPHOMORES - Mathias Burban, Wesley Graves, Max Jacobson, Jimmy Pfeffer, Kyle Pietrowski, Cody Weisel.

FRESHMEN - Chad Blank, Josh Brezina, Josh Flatau, Luke Houska, Daniel Roers, Matt Vinje.

COACHES - Mark Storhaug, head coach; J'Nell Amundson, assistant; Kelly Wencl, assistant.