Weather Forecast


Football: Olson is Ashby MVP

Gage Olson (29) was named as Ashby's msot valuable player for the 2012 football season. Olson was also named to the All-Pheasant Conference team along with Blake Ohren and Hunter Fick. (File photo)

The Ashby football team announced their season ending awards winners and the resignation of their head coach recently.

Andy Campbell has worked the sidelines for the past two seasons as the Arrows went 9-9 during that stretch.

"After much thought and reflection, I have decided to resign as head football coach of the Ashby Arrows," Campbell said. "I want to thank the community and athletes I've had the privilege and honor to coach the last two seasons. I have nothing but the fondest memories and stories of the athletes, coaches, parents and friends whom my family and I have had the amazing opportunity to share our last two years with."

Campbell handed out his team's MVP Award to junior running back Gage Olson at the season ending banquet. Olson was one of three players named All-Pheasant Conference, along with Blake Ohren and Hunter Fick. Tanner Langlie and Dylan Barry were honorable-mention selections, while Fick earned all-section recognition as well.

Fick left quite an impression in only his sophomore season with the Arrows. He was named the team's defensive MVP after collecting 112 tackles, 6.5 sacks and 19 QB hurries at linebacker. He also took home the team's offensive lineman of the year award and the Ironman of the Year Award.

Ohren took home the team's offensive MVP award. The junior quarterback had 2,597 all-purpose yards and 32 touchdowns to go with it. Junior Jeff Berglund was named the team's defensive lineman of the year and senior Dylan Barry was named the most inspirational player of the year.

Ohren, Fick and Olson will all be back next season as team captains in 2013. They will lead a team that is coming off a 4-5 overall finish and a 4-4 mark in the Pheasant Conference.


TEAM AWARDS - MVP - Olson; Offensive MVP - Ohren; Defensive MVP - Fick; Offensive Lineman of the Year - Fick; Defensive Lineman of the Year - Berglund; Ironman of the Year - Fick; Most Inspirational Player of the Year - Barry

ALL-PHEASANT CONFERENCE - Ohren, Olson, Fick; Honorable Mention - Langlie, Barry