Weather Forecast


Football: Minnewaska's Snider is WCC defender of the year

Nathan Snider was named the most valuable player for the Minnewaska football team after leading the Lakers' defense with 102 solo and 24 assisted tackles.

Snider was also named the outstanding defensive player of the year and was also selected as the West Central Conference's outstanding defensive player and the league's defensive player of the year.

His defensive effort played a key role in the reversal of Minnewaska's slow start to the season and sent the Lakers into the section championship.

Snider, along with Mike Maus, Jake Amundson and Austin Ostrander, were named to the All-Section 5AA football team after their run to the finals.

Maus was selected as the Lakers' most improved player, while Taylor Lundebrek was named the most valuable lineman.

On offense, Amundson and Ostrander shared the outstanding offensive player award.

Receiving the Ryan Blair special teams' player of the year award was Ethan Anderson, with Trenton Noetzelman receiving the Dan Wold award.

Named as the scout team player of the year was Austin VerSteeg, while Will Anderson was named the JV player of the year.

Receiving All-WCC Academic honors for grades 10-12 were Jayden Beecher, Jack Schultenover, Ostrander, Anderson, Ryan Stottler and Maus.




MORRIS AREA - Jordan Staples, Joel Harrison, John Tiernan, Tom Holland, Chandler Erickson, Jacob Torgerson.

ATWATER-COSMOS-GROVE CITY - Dylan Hoerchler, Taylor Larson, Lucas Damm, Lee Whitcomb.

LAC QUI PARLE VALLEY - J.D. Struxness, Lucas Mortenson, Danny Tuckett, Colby Siegert.

MINNEWASKA - Nathan Snider, Jake Amundson, Austin Ostrander, Sam Long.

PAYNESVILLE - Nathan Meyer, Evan Bayer, Caleb Burris, Anthony Johnson.

BENSON - Matt Ahrndt, Tyler Jenson.

SAUK CENTRE - Patrick Knoblauch, Josh Buschette.

MONTEVIDEO - Charles O'Malley, Josh Henderson.

YELLOW MEDICINE EAST - Koltyn Anderson, Aaron Lalim.


BOLD - Alex Hatch, Jayson Rothmeier.

MORRIS AREA - Connor Metzger, Nic Vipond.

ATWATER-COSMOS-GROVE CITY - Jordan Fester, Mitchell Macik.

LAC QUI PARLE VALLEY - Joe Weeding, Dylan Erickson.

MINNEWASKA - Taylor Lundebrek, Jack Schultenover.

PAYNESVILLE - Nick Dingmann, Derek Ludwig.

BENSON - Colin Ose, Tanner Mikkelson.

SAUK CENTRE - Nick Adams, Trent Berscheit.

MONTEVIDEO - Walker Danielson, Markus Kranz.

YELLOW MEDICINE EAST - Cody Ulrich, Nathan Anderson.


BOLD 8-0

Morris Area 8-0

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City 6-2

Lac qui Parle Valley 4-4

Minnewaska 4-4

Paynesville 4-4

Benson 3-5

Sauk Centre 2-6

Montevideo 1-7

Yellow Medicine East 0-8