Weather Forecast


Area football: Four Silverstreaks on All-Prairie North team

Osakis placed four football players on the new Prairie North All-Conference team after the Silverstreaks finished the conference season with a 4-1 record.

Seniors Mitch Herzog and Cody Adolphson, along with juniors Garret Scherr and Brian Thorstad, were selected for Osakis.

Conference champion Barnesville had nine selections for the team.

Named the offensive back of the year was Robbie Strand of Barnesville. Teammate Kyle Johnson was named the offensive lineman of the year, Austin Martz was defensive back of the year, and Brad Ellefson was defensive lineman of the year.


BARNESVILLE - Robbie Strand, senior; Adam Rice, senior; Austin Martz, junior; Colby Braton, senior; Kyle Johnson, junior; Stuart Brandt, junior; Mac Tschakert, senior; Brad Ellefson, senior; Michael Strand, sophomore.

OSAKIS - Mitch Herzog, senior; Garret Scherr, junior; Brian Thorstad, junior; Cody Adolphson, senior.

UPSALA-SWANVILLE AREA - Mitch Lange, sophomore; Eric Freiler, junior; Garrett Wolf, junior.

LONG PRAIRIE-GREY EAGLE - John Dinkel, junior; Ben Freiler, senior.

UNITED NORTH CENTRAL - Bryson Vasey, senior; Markus Tolkkinen, senior.

WADENA-DEER CREEK - Logan Meyer, senior.

Prairie South

West Central Area's Drew Peterson, a junior, was selected to the Prairie South All-Conference football team.

The Knights finished the conference slate with a 1-4 record, with Browerville claiming the trophy on a 5-0 record.

Browerville's Ben Dreher was named the conference's most outstanding back of the year, with Alex Ukkelburg of Ottertail Central the offensive lineman of the year. Trenton Wolleburg of Browerville was the defensive back of the year, while teammate Connor Burns was the defensive lineman of the year.

Dreher was also selected as the outstanding offensive player for the overall Prairie Conference, while Austin Martz of Barnesville was the most outstanding defensive player.


BROWERVILLE - Ben Dreher, senior; Trenton Wollenburg, senior; Connor Burns, senior; Seth Kellen, senior; Andrew Espree, senior; Ryan Rickbeil, junior.

ROYALTON - Mitch Zimmerman, senior; Austin Hackett, senior; Andy Poster, senior; Hunter Jasmer, senior; Tony Gadacz, sophomore.

OTTERTAIL CENTRAL - Alex Ukkelburg, senior; Marty Charest, senior; Zach Torgerson, junior; Zach Wilkie, senior.

KERKHOVEN-MURDOCK-SUNBURG - Jonah Johnson, senior; Aaren Glesne, senior; Blake Hagen, senior.

WEST CENTRAL AREA - Drew Peterson, junior.

NEW YORK MILLS - Shane Novak, junior; Tyler Patron, sophomore.