Weather Forecast


Racing: Crouse, Haben, Zieske victorious at Viking

Holloway driver Brian Haben topped a strong field of 38 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds scoring the win during Governor's Ethanol Challenge action Tuesday night at Viking Speedway.

Dustin Zieske picked up his second Viking Speedway win of the season in the WISSOTA Mod Four division while Jeff Crouse picked up a $1,000 payday by scoring the win during the "Jerry Kluver Memorial" WISSOTA Super Stock Special held in conjunction with the midweek event at the big half mile.

Drivers from all across WISSOTA country convened at the Douglas County Fairgrounds for some tremendous Amsoil Dirt Track Series Racing.

The Midwest Modifieds were first on the docket with 24 drivers making the call for the 20-lap main event.

Haben took the early lead while third starter Jason Hoffman battled with Dusty Bitzan for the second spot.

A myriad of yellow flags plagued action early on before order was restored on lap three.

Haben continued out front, while many hard-charging efforts were found on the speedway.

Row seven starter Shane Sabraski looked very strong as he began to make his way to the front. The Rice native moved into the top three with six laps remaining, while Haben was bolted out front.

Back in traffic, 24th starter Ronnie Rihn and 23rd starter Tyler Limoges began to make a charge from the rear of the pack.

Rihn would put on a great display, moving up 16 spots to finish eighth while Limoges moved up 12 spots to finish 11th.

Sabraski took a couple shots at Haben during the latter stages of the event, but it was not enough as Haben went on to take his second win in his past two starts at Viking.

Sabraski, Hoffman, Cale Arneson and 15th starter Justin Jones earned top five finishing spots as well.

Matt Weisman, Bitzan, Hoffman and Mark Blom all took heat race wins earlier in the show while Marshal Tofte reigned victorious in the division's lone B-main.

The 20-lap "Jerry Kluver Memorial" Super Stock special event rolled out onto the speedway next with 16 drivers making the call.

Mike Jans and Jeff Kluver shared the front row starting duties as flagman Layne Roberts dropped the green.

Kluver beat Jans to turn one and took the lead as the field filed out of turn two, and looked strong on the opening circuit, being scored the leader at the conclusion of the first lap.

Fourth starter Jeremy Jerve used the high side of the speedway to his advantage as he moved into second while Jans and Crouse battled for the third spot.

Crouse took over the third spot seven laps into the event, while Kluver continued to lead out front. Jerve closed up on the backside of Kluver with the cross flags showing, bringing Crouse with him in the process. On lap 10, the first yellow of the event waved, which bunched up the field behind Kluver for the Delaware restart.

The green flag dropped over the field once again with Crouse taking over the second spot from Jerve via the bottom of the speedway as the field exited turn two.

Crouse quickly closed up on the backside of Kluver as the duo battled for the lead. Crouse was able to make the middle of the speedway work as he took over the point with five laps remaining.

With 16 laps in the books, Jans began to come to life once again, using the bottom of the speedway to dispose of Jerve for the third spot. He quickly found himself in a battle with Kluver for the second spot.

Kluver, however, was strong in the remaining laps and held on to the second spot. Out front, it was all Crouse as he cruised on to one of the nicest wins of his career.

Kluver had a great run, coming home second in front of Jans, Jerve and eighth starter Cory Tammen.

Kluver was victorious in heat race one with Ron Host taking the win in heat race two.

The final event of the evening belonged to the Mod Fours, with some of the heaviest hitters in all of WISSOTA on hand.

Pole-sitter Tyler Larson took the lap one lead, while the field sized up behind.

Montevideo driver Justin Smith quickly worked his way into the second spot with Josh Abrahamson in third.

As the race wore on, however, Tom Silver looked as if he might have the car to beat. Silver, who started the event in 13th, used the high side of the speedway to work his way into third with seven laps still up on the board.

Silver's night would end one lap later when a motor mount let loose on his No. 24X machine.

The veteran Zieske, who had moved up to fourth from his eighth starting position, moved up to the top and began to pick off cars one by one. Zieske wheeled by Larson and Abrahamson for the lead with three laps remaining, while Rob VanMil and Tyler Larson battled for the third spot.

Zieske was strong in the remaining laps and was never seriously challenged on his way to victory.

Abrahamson, who looked strong all evening long, ended a tremendous run in the runner-up position, with Rob VanMil third, Larson fourth and Corry VanMil fifth.

Abrahamson, VanMil and Kurt Deters all took heat race wins earlier in the program for the Mod Fours.

For more information regarding Viking Speedway, log onto the track's website at Races start Saturday night at 5:30 p.m.