Weather Forecast


School board freezes salaries

They're at it again.

Board members from Alexandria School District 206 voted once again to put a freeze on their salary.

Back in 2008, the seven-member board approved an increase in their annual salary, something they hadn't done in 17 years.

At that time, the salary for board members increased from $2,000 to $3,000 a year with an annual increase of 3 percent thereafter.

However, last year, board members didn't receive the annual 3 percent raise - they voted to "skip the escalation."

And this year, they decided to do the same thing.

It was recommended that board members delay the implementation for yet another year.

Without any hesitation, board member Jim Hafdal made a motion to approve the recommendation.

And without any discussion, the motion passed with a 7-0 vote.

The 2010 salary will be $3,000 per member with the board chair receiving an extra $500.

In addition to setting salaries, the board set training and in-service allotments for 2010 at $2,300 per board member. This has not increased for at least the last three years.

On a side note, board members do not receive any per diems for attending meetings - regular board meetings or committee meetings.



Officers were also elected at the reorganizational meeting, including Dean Anderson, board chair; Dave Anderson, vice chair; and Judy Florell, clerk/treasurer.

Board members were also reassigned to a variety of boards, councils and committees. They include the following:

•Alan Zeithamer - Runestone Area Education District, Lakes Area Recreation Board, Interactive Television Committee representative, the Negotiation and Personnel Committee and the Budget and Facilities Committee.

•Pam Carlson - Chamber Joint Planning Commission, Student Connections and Budget and Facilities Committee.

•Judy Florell - Chamber Joint Planning Commission, Student Connections, Budget and Finance Advisory Council and Curriculum and Policy Committee.

•Jim Hafdal - Minnesota State High School League and Negotiation and Personnel Committee.

•Dean Anderson - representative assembly designee to Lakes Country Service Cooperative, Students Connections, Curriculum and Policy Committee and Budget and Facilities Committee.

•Dave Anderson - Negotiation and Personnel Committee, legislative liaison for Minnesota School Board Association, Lakes Area Recreation Board and Special Education Advisory Committee.

•Jean Robley - Curriculum Advisory Council and Curriculum and Policy Committee.


During the meeting, the board members also designated 10 area financial institutions as depositories for school funds for calendar year 2009-10.

The institutions are U.S. Bank of Alexandria, Bremer Bank of Alexandria, Wells Fargo Bank of Alexandria, Viking Savings Bank of Alexandria, First State Bank of Alexandria-Carlos-Miltona, Neighborhood National Bank of Alexandria and American National Bank of Alexandria.

Funds will also be placed with the Minnesota School District Asset Fund Plus, AIM Investments and MBIA Investments.

The board also took the following actions:

•Redesignated the Echo Press as the official newspaper for the district's legal publications and postings.

•Approved Swenson Lervick Syverson Anderson Trosvig Jacobson, P.A.; Kennedy and Graven; and Dorsey Whitney Law Firm to serve as the legal counsel for the district for the upcoming year.

•Approved Ringdahl Architects, Widseth Smith Nolting and Associates, JLG Architects and DLR Group as the district's on-call architects.