Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Three candidates vie for District 5 commissioner

A third candidate filed for the Douglas County Commissioner District 5 position – former Alexandria City Council member, Elroy Frank.

Frank filed Tuesday afternoon, the last day of a filing period that was extended five days when one of the candidates, incumbent Dan Olson, withdrew from the race.

Frank joins Chuck Nettestad and Owen Miller in the race, which will now have a primary election on August 12.

All three candidates have extensive experience working for the city. Frank served Alexandria’s Ward 5 for 16 years; Nettestad was chief of police for 20 years before retiring in 2006; and Miller has been Alexandria’s Ward 3 council member the past six years.

The two top vote-getters in the primary will be on the ballot for the November 4 general election. There will also be a primary election for Douglas County sheriff. Incumbent Troy Wolbersen is being challenged by Rich Homan, Greg Windhurst and Scot Umlauf.


Douglas County Commissioner

District 5 includes three precincts

in the city of Alexandria –

Ward 3, Ward 4 and Ward 5, precinct 2.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236