Weather Forecast


Miltich, Sieling win DFL endorsement in District 8A, 8B

The Minnesota DFL Senate District 8 Endorsing Convention was held May 21 at the Alexandria Technical and Community College.

In addition to voting delegates, many community members were present as witnesses and supporters.

In House District 8A, Jim Miltich of Pelican Rapids was nominated and unanimously endorsed on the first ballot. Manley Nichols and Mike Windey gave supporting speeches.

Miltich spoke on the importance of civic involvement for community building and emphasized that effective representation is essential for a thriving rural Minnesota.

On the 8B side, Jay Sieling of Alexandria was also unanimously endorsed on the first ballot. Will Sieling and Anne Clark gave supporting speeches.

Jay Sieling spoke to the foundational nature of rural Minnesota values, how they influence lives and their role in effective policymaking.

DFL Senate District 8 also held officer elections at the convention. The winners are: chair – Beth Jansen, Alexandria; vice chair – Steve Rufer, Fergus Falls; secretary – LaRon Adkins, Battle Lake; and treasurer – Ken Dahl, Battle Lake.

The public can meet the candidates at The Peak on June 19. For more information, call (218) 864-0923.