Weather Forecast


It's all in the hands of voters

Lowell Anderson | Echo Press Voters filled the booths at Alexandria City Hall Tuesday morning

If you're reading this on Tuesday night, there may still be time to vote.

Polls for the mid-term election remain open until 8 p.m.

The turnout for the election may be a little flat this year, according to early indications.

As of the end of Friday, the Douglas County Auditor's Office had received 1,155 absentee ballots - 28 percent less than the 1,598 absentee ballots that were processed during the last mid-term election four years ago.

Based on those figures, Vicki Doehling, Douglas County elections administrator, expects that the local turnout will be between 60 and 70 percent, which is not nearly as high as the 88 percent turnout for the presidential election in 2008.

The Echo Press website - - will provide up-to-the-minute results of key local races as well as totals for state and federal races that include Douglas County.

Links to several key races are available near the top of the front page of our website. Clicking on those will take you right to the totals of that particular race.

Douglas County voters will help decide a number of statewide races this election, including governor, secretary of state, auditor, attorney general and several judge positions.

They'll also help determine a U.S. House of Representative seat in District 7. The candidates are Collin Peterson, Lee Byberg, Glen Menze and Gene Waldorf.

Other noteworthy contested races in this area include:

•Minnesota Senate District 11 (Bill Ingebrigtsen and Jim Thoreen).

•Minnesota House District 11A (Torrey Westrom, Dave Holman and Bennett Smith).

•Minnesota House District 11B (Mary Franson, Amy Hunter and Bert Pexsa).

•Douglas County Commissioner District 2 (Norm Salto and Elroy Frank).

•Douglas County Commissioner District 4 (Paul Anderson and Arlan Kakac).

•Douglas County Commissioner District 5 (Dan Olson and write-in candidate Bill Dropik).

•Douglas County Attorney (Chris Karpan and Chad Larson).

•Alexandria City Council Ward 1 (Cindy Bigger, Virgil Batesole and Don Kleine).

•Alexandria District 206 School Board Position 4 (Sara Reemts, Sandy Susag and Laura Knudsen)

Several city council positions in the 11 cities throughout Douglas County are also up for election. In addition to Alexandria, there are contested council seats in Brandon, Carlos, Evansville and Osakis. There are also races for mayor in Evansville, Kensington and Osakis.

Detailed precinct-by-precinct election results in Douglas County, and follow-up comments and reactions from candidates, will be printed in Friday's Echo Press.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236