Weather Forecast


Ness elected to League of MN Cities board

Alexandria Mayor Dan Ness has been elected to serve as second vice president of the board of directors for the League of Minnesota Cities.

Elections for new board members and new officers were held last week at the league's annual conference in St. Paul.

Other league board officers for 2009-10 are: president - Ardell F. Brede, mayor, Rochester; and first vice president - Richard Brainerd, council member, Mahtomedi.

New members elected to the board are Lee Helgen, council member, St. Paul; Andy Kauffman, mayor, Montrose; Sue Larson, council member, Isanti; and Sue Park, mayor, Sunfish Lake.

The League of Minnesota Cities is a nonprofit, membership organization. It serves its more than 830 members through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services. For more information, visit