Weather Forecast


Primed for the primary?

Are you ready to vote in the primary election on Tuesday?

Some already have.

The Douglas County Auditor's Office had received 236 absentee ballots as of Wednesday morning, which is about average for a primary election, according to Elections Administrator Vicki Doehling.

Direct primary voting at the auditor's office in the courthouse started on Wednesday and will continue through Monday. Here are the hours: Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; Saturday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.; and Monday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

On Tuesday, voters will cast their ballots at their polling place. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. with three exceptions — Belle River and Leaf Valley Township polls open at 10 a.m. and Lund Township polls open at 9 a.m.

Voters who live in either Douglas County Board District 2 or 4 will see county commissioner candidates on their ballots. Three candidates have filed in each district and the primary will narrow the field to two.

District 2 candidates are Jim Stratton (incumbent), Judy Backhaus and Tim Kalina. The district includes the city of Forada, part of two wards in Alexandria — Ward 1/precinct 1 and Ward 5/precinct 1 — and the townships of Hudson, LaGrand and Lake Mary.

District 4 candidates are Charlie Meyer (incumbent), Beth Teeuwen and Mike Woods. The district includes two wards in the city of Alexandria — Ward 1/precinct 2 and Ward 2 — and Alexandria Township.

State and federal races that drew two or more candidates from the same political party will also be on the primary ballot. The top vote-getter from each party for each position will go on to the general election on Nov. 6.

For the primary, voters must choose to either vote for Republican candidates or DFL candidates; they can't "cross over" and vote for some Republicans and some Democrats.

Voters won't have to declare which political party they will be voting for before receiving a ballot; the ballot will have Republican candidates on one side and DFL candidates on the other.

A new wrinkle this year: When voters check in at the polling place, election judges will look up their names to see if they're registered by using an electronic iPad. This is a change from the paper rosters that were used in past elections. Voters will still be given a piece of paper to sign their name.

Here's a list of the Minnesota candidates who will be on the ballot:

U.S. Senate (full six-year term)

Republican: Jim Newberger, Rocky De La Fuente, Rae Hart Anderson, Merrill Anderson.

Democrat: Amy Klobuchar (incumbent), Leonard Richards, David Robert Groves, Stephen Emery, Steve Carlson.

U.S. Senate (to fill two years of Al Franken's term)

Republican: Karin Housley, Nikolay Nikolayevich Bey, Bob Anderson.

Democrat: Tina Smith, Richard Painter, Christopher Lovell Seymore Sr., Nick Leonard, Gregg Iverson, Ali Chehem Ali.

U.S. House District 7

Republican: Dave Hughes, Matt Prosch.

Democrat: Collin Peterson (incumbent).

Governor-lieutenant governor

Republican: Jeff Johnson-Donna Bergstrom, Matt Cruse-Thomas Loeffler, Tim Pawlenty-Michelle Fischbach.

Democrat: Tim Holden-James Mellin II, Erin Murphy-Erin Maye-Quade, Ole Saavior-Chris Edman, Lori Swanson-Rick Nolan, Tim Walz-Peggy Flanagan.

Attorney general

Republican: Robert Lessard, Sharon Anderson, Doug Wardlow.

Democrat: Keith Ellison, Tom Foley, Debra Hilstrom, Matt Pelikan, Mike Rothman.

Polling places

Here are the polling places in Douglas County:

Alexandria Ward 1/precinct 1 — Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Dr, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 1/precinct 2 — Lake Community Church, 490 Voyager Dr, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 2 — Living Waters Church, 1310 North Nokomis, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 3 — New Life Christian Church, 1910 Co Rd 82 SE, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 4 — Cornerstone Church, 202 7th Ave East, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 5/precinct 1 — Alexandria City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria.

Alexandria Ward 5/precinct 2 — Alexandria City Hall 704 Broadway, Alexandria.

Alexandria Township — Good Shepherd Lutheran Church, 2702 St Hwy 29 N, Alexandria.

Belle River Township — St. Nicholas Church, 9473 Co Rd 3 NE, Carlos.

City of Brandon — Brandon City Hall, 105 Holmes Ave N, Brandon.

Brandon Township (share with Brandon city), Brandon City Hall, 105 Holmes Ave N, Brandon.

City of Carlos — Carlos City Hall, 109 1st St W, Carlos.

Carlos Township — Carlos Township Town Hall 210, Victoria Ave, Carlos.

City of Evansville — Evansville City Hall, 106 State St, Evansville.

Evansville Township (share with Evansville city) — Evansville City Hall, 106 State St, Evansville.

City of Forada — Forada City Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria.

City of Garfield — Garfield City Hall and Community Center, 101 Sanstead St E, Garfield.

Holmes Township — Holmes City Town Hall, 11180 Tewes Trl SW, Farwell.

Hudson Township (share with Forada city) — Forada City Hall, 10991 Tobys Ave SE, Alexandria.

Ida Township — Ida Town Hall, 4700 Co Rd 6 NW, Garfield.

City of Kensington — Kensington Community Center, 19 Central Ave, Kensington.

LaGrand Township — LaGrand Town Hall, 501 Town Hall Rd NW, Alexandria.

Lake Mary Township — Lake Mary Town Hall, 4791 Co Rd 4 SW, Alexandria.

Leaf Valley Township — Leaf Valley Town Hall, 15240 Co Rd 6 NW, Garfield.

Lund Township — Town Hall in Melby, 17443 Lakeview Ave NW, Evansville.

City of Millerville — Millerville Fire Hall, 16560 Co Rd 7 NW, Brandon.

Millerville Township (share with Millerville city) — Millerville Fire Hall, 16560 Co Rd 7 NW, Brandon.

City of Miltona — Miltona Community Center, 5590 Co Rd 14, Miltona.

Miltona Township — Miltona Community Center 5590 Co Rd 14 NE, Miltona.

Moe Township — Pioneer Park, 14641 Pioneer Park Rd SW, Garfield.

City of Nelson — Nelson City Hall, 120 N Nelson St, Nelson.

Orange Township (share with Osakis city) — Ed Pollard Community Center 18 E Nokomis St, Osakis.

City of Osakis — Ed Pollard Community Center, 18 E Nokomis St, Osakis.

Osakis Township (share with Osakis city) — Ed Pollard Community Center 18 E Nokomis St, Osakis.

Solem Township — Kensington Runestone Park, 8965 Co Rd 103 SW, Kensington.

Spruce Hill Township — Spruce Hill Town Hall, 12055 Willow Dr NE, Miltona.

Urness Township — Urness Town Hall, 2160 Co Rd 1 SW, Evansville.

Where do I vote?

To see a sample of your primary ballot or to find out where to vote, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State's website at You can also register to vote, check your registration and more.

Al Edenloff

Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  

(320) 763-1236