Weather Forecast


Applicants for Commission on Judicial Selection requested by Governor Dayton

Governor Mark Dayton is seeking committed individuals to serve as members of the Commission on Judicial Selection. The 49-member commission will review applications and make recommendations to appointing authorities for vacancies in district courts and the Workers Compensation Court of Appeals.

The Minnesota Supreme Court and the Governor appoint both attorneys and non-attorneys for the commission. Governor Dayton appoints seven members (at least two non-lawyers) including the Chair, who serve in an at-large capacity attending to all judgeship vacancies. The Governor will also appoint two members (at least one non-lawyer) for each of the 10 judicial districts within the state. The Supreme Court appoints the other members.

Governor Dayton is expecting commission members to be dedicated and active throughout their service. The Governor believes that "Minnesota needs to recruit and select the very best among our citizens to assume the enormous responsibilities of serving in the judiciary."

District members must reside within the judicial district they serve. No compensation shall be received and no expenses incurred will be reimbursed.

Applicants should offer a letter of interest and a resume for consideration to the commission. Letters must describe backgrounds as well as name the judicial district where the applicant resides. The application deadline is Friday, February 11, 2011.

Application materials should be sent to Tiffany Orth, Appointments Coordinator, Office of Governor Dayton, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd, Saint Paul, MN, 55155 or they can be emailed to

For inquiries concerning the application process, contact Tiffany Orth at or at (651) 201-3413.