Weather Forecast


Two judge positions open in 7th District

The Commission on Judicial Selection announced this week that two judgeship vacancies are occurring in Minnesota’s 7th Judicial District Court.

0 Talk about it

These vacancies were created upon the retirement of the Honorable Peter Irvine and the resignation of the Honorable Lisa Borgen. Irvine’s seat will be chambered at Long Prairie in Todd County and Borgen’s seat will be chambered at Moorhead in Clay County.

The commission is searching for fair, experienced and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system.

The following qualities will be considered for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience and community service. The application process is now open for these vacancies.

An individual wishing to apply may request an application by writing to Lee Sheehy, chair of the Commission on Judicial Selection, at 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Boulevard, St. Paul, MN 55155, or by contacting Andrew Olson, appointments coordinator, via e-mail at

A cover letter and resume should also be submitted with the application. Application materials are due by close of business, Thursday, November 7.

Interviews are scheduled to be held on Tuesday, November 26 at the Douglas County Courthouse in Alexandria.

For inquiries concerning the application process, contact Andrew Olson at or (651) 201-3413.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236