Weather Forecast


United Way hosts kickoff and awards

It was a morning of celebration as the United Way hosted its 2013-14 Campaign Kick Off Breakfast and Awards on Wednesday, September 11. More than 100 supporters gathered to kick off the 2013-14 campaign centered on the message of “We before me.”

In addition to kicking off the 2013-14 campaign, awards were giving to business and individuals who have been dedicated to the mission of United Way:

100 percent participation (100 percent of their employees donated to the campaign): Bell State Bank and Trust and Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union.

Giving jumps (percent increase in giving over last year): Alexandria Industries and Douglas Machine.

Largest new campaign: Douglas Scientific.

Fundraising and volunteer efforts: 3M.

Outgoing 2012-13 campaign chairs: Lee and Judy Backhaus (Douglas County) and Barb Ostrander (Pope County).

Eagle award: Curt Jahnke.

Past president (2012-13): Shawn Green.

Outgoing board members: Chris Schroeder, Peter Nelson and Mike Scarborough.