Weather Forecast


Resorters Golf Tournament: Masters Division, Wednesday

Here's an update of the Master's Division Championship in the Resorters Golf Tournament being played at the Alexandria Golf Course after play concluded Wednesday.

In a field full of champions, Alexandria native Tom Eidsvold took his first step toward defending his 2012 Masters Division Championship yesterday with a 6-5 victory over Jim Weinzetl.

There were no major upsets yesterday, as the second through fourth seeds also advanced during the opening round of match play.

Play will continue today in the Masters Division Championship Flight when the first group tees off at noon on No. 1. The second group will follow on No. 1 at 12:09 p.m.



Eidsvold made quick work of his first match of the tournament, defeating Weinzetl of Plymouth in just 13 holes.

Weinzetl's win on the first hole wound being his only one in the match, scoring a par on No. 10 to take an early 1-up lead. Eidsvold shot a par on No. 11 to evening the match.

After tying the next two holes, Eidsvold took control of the match in a big way. He won eight of the next nine holes, which included birdies on Nos. 16 and 18.

Eidsvold put the finishing touch on the day with a par on No. 4 to go 6-up in the match.


LASCH, 5-3

Larry Petersen of Albert Lea twice trailed early, but he picked up his play on the front-nine to take the match against Dick Lasch of Circle Pines.

Lasch took an early lead in the match when he birdied No. 11. A par on No. 12 by Petersen quickly erased the lead.

A double bogey from Petersen on No. 15 gave Lasch the lead again.

The lead would be the last for Lasch, as Petersen shot pars on the next three holes to finish play on the back-nine at 1-up.

Petersen took control of the match on the front nine, going 3-up with a birdie and a par at Nos. 1 and 2. After both players tied Nos. 3 and 4, Petersen sealed the win with a par and a birdie on the next two holes.

The win finished off Lasch, who was the Men's Executive Division champion in 1991.



It only took 14 holes for Alexandria native Dave Harris to take an opening round match 6-4 against Jim Fitzgerald of Montgomery, Texas.

Fitzgerald only won two holes on the day, but he took an early lead thanks to an opening-round bogey he shot on No. 10.

A par on No. 12 tied the match, and Harris took his first lead in the match with another par on No. 14.

A birdie on No. 16 got Harris going, and he won the final three holes to enjoy a 4-up lead through the first nine.

Fitzgerald cut into the lead with a par on No. 2, but birdies on Nos. 3 and 5 helped Harris take the next three holes to win the match.

Harris is looking to add to his two Resorters Senior Division Championships from 1998 and 2006.



Ken Riesberg of Mesa, Arizona, never trailed during his 2-1 victory against Alexandria native Bob Swenson.

After the pair split their first two holes, Riesberg won the next three with two pars and a bogey to go 3-up.

Riesberg finished the back nine with a 4-up lead thanks to a 38-stroke performance.

Swenson was able to cut into the lead on the front nine thanks to birdies on Nos. 1 and 6. But Riesberg's lead never fell past 2-up, and that was where the score was after play concluded on No. 8.



Alexandria native Mike Golden held the lead for most of the afternoon, but he ran out of steam over the final three holes in a close 2-1 loss to Ron Clayton of Sarasota, Florida.

Golden held a 1-up lead after nine holes thanks to a birdie on No. 18.

Clayton shot a par on No. 1 to even the match, but Golden shot a par of his own on the next hole to regain the lead.

After tying the next three holes with bogeys, Golden still held his 1-up lead. That is when Clayton shot three straight pars, ending the match on No. 17.

Clayton is an eight time champion of the tournament, including six straight senior titles from 2004 through 2009.



Billings, Montana native Clayton Pike traded leads with Robert Beighley early, but a steady performance helped him outlast the Indian Wells, California resident, 2-1.

After an early 1-up lead, Beighley built a lead of his own with pars on Nos. 12 and 14.

Pike tied the match, and pars on 17 and 18 helped him build a 2-up lead after play was complete on the back nine.

Pike's lead was cut back to 1-up thanks in part to Beighley's birdie on No. 3.

But Pike followed a par on No. 5 with a birdie of his own on No. 6 to build his lead to 3-up, and he was able to cruise from there to victory.


STAMP, 4-3

Mankato's George Cliff never trailed during his opening round 4-3 victory against Bryan Stamp of Prescott, Arizona.

Cliff opened the match with a 4-up lead thanks to six pars on the first nine holes of the day.

He held onto the 4-up lead through the final six holes for victory, finishing the match with a birdie on No. 6.

Cliff hopes to add to his list of titles at Resorters, including Senior Division championships in 2007, 2005, 2002 and 2001, and Executive Men's Division championships in 1988 and 1989.



It took 17 holes, but George Mikesh was able to pull out the win in a seesaw battle against Gary Obele of Becker, 2-1.

The match had four lead changes, with the largest of the afternoon being the same as Mikesh's winning score of 2-up.

Obele struck first in the match, shooting a par and a birdie on Nos. 11 and 12 to take a 2-up lead.

Mikesh battled back, shooting four straight pars to take a 2-up lead after No. 17.

After the two tied on Nos. 18 and 1, it was Obele's turn to take a lead in the match. Three straight pars gave Obele a 1-up lead after No. 4.

The lead would be his last. Three straight pars on Nos. 6 through 8 for Mikesh earned him the first-round victory.


Tom Eidsvold def. Jim Weinzetl, 6-5

Larry Petersen def. Dick Lasch, 5-3

Dave Harris def. Jim Fitzgerald, 6-4

Ken Riesberg def. Bob Swenson, 2-1

Ron Clayton def. Mike Golden, 2-1

Clayton Pike def. Robert Beighley, 2-1

George Cliff def. Bryan Stamp, 4-3

George Mikesh def. Gary Obele, 2-1


Thursday, August 1

First tee

Noon - Tom Eidsvold vs. Larry Petersen; Dave Harris vs. Ken Riesberg;

12:09 p.m. - Ron Clayton vs. Clayton Pike; George Cliff versus George Mikesh