Weather Forecast


League of Minnesota Cities honors 30 Minnesota lawmakers

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 18 members of the Minnesota House of Representatives and 12 state senators as Legislators of Distinction for 2013.

The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during the 2013 legislative session. Legislators of Distinction are annually approved by the League's Board of Directors to recognize that in order to successfully serve commonly shared constituents, state and city officials must work together to meet the unique needs of rural, suburban, and urban residents all across Minnesota.

Recipients of this recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. The letters of acknowledgement noted the specific act, bill, sponsorship, or actions in support of city-friendly legislation that justify the appreciation of Minnesota's 853 cities. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter is sent to the mayor of each city in the district for each award winner. The League of Minnesota Cities Legislators of Distinction for 2013 are:

Minnesota House of Representatives

An asterisk (*) indicates legislators who are also former elected city officials.

· Rep. Paul Anderson, R-Starbuck

· Rep. Jim Davnie, DFL-Minneapolis

· Rep. Ron Erhardt, DFL-Edina

· Rep. Peter Fischer, DFL-Maplewood

· Rep. Mike Freiberg, DFL-Golden Valley*

· Rep. Bob Gunther, R-Fairmont

· Rep. Laurie Halverson, DFL-Eagan

· Rep. Frank Hornstein, DFL-Minneapolis

· Rep. Ann Lenczewski, DFL-Bloomington*

· Rep. Ben Lien, DFL-Moorhead

· Rep. Mary Murphy, DFL-Hermantown

· Rep. Michael Nelson, DFL-Brooklyn Center

· Rep. Steve Simon, DFL-St. Louis Park

· Rep. Erik Simonson, DFL-Duluth

· Rep. Linda Slocum, DFL-Richfield

· Rep. Paul Torkelson, R-Hanska

· Rep. Mark Uglem, R-Champlin*

· Rep. Nick Zerwas, R-Elk River*

Minnesota Senate

An asterisk (*) indicates legislators who are also former elected city officials.

· Sen. Jim Carlson, DFL-Eagan

· Sen. Scott Dibble, DFL-Minneapolis

· Sen. Kari Dziedzic, DFL-Minneapolis

· Sen. Melisa Franzen, DFL-Edina

· Sen. John Marty, DFL-Roseville

· Sen. Sandy Pappas, DFL-St. Paul

· Sen. John C. Pederson, R-St. Cloud*

· Sen. Roger Reinert, DFL-Duluth*

· Sen. Ann Rest, DFL-New Hope

· Sen. Bev Scalze, DFL-Little Canada*

· Sen. David H. Senjem, R-Rochester*

· Sen. Rod Skoe, DFL-Clearbrook

The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action. The League serves its more than 830 members through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management, and other services. For more information, visit