Weather Forecast


Voters elect leaders in 18 townships in Douglas County

Voting for township elections in Douglas County was light Tuesday since most of the candidates were running unopposed.

Eighteen of the 20 townships in Douglas County held elections. Brandon and Miltona townships hold their elections in the fall.

Here's a look at the voting results in each of the townships.


Both incumbent supervisors, Joel Dahlheimer and Lyle Hammerschmidt, were running unopposed and were re-elected.


Supervisor Rod Seward and treasurer Vangie Miller were both re-elected. They were running unopposed.


Incumbent supervisor Dwayne Waldorf was re-elected, along with incumbent treasurer, Dean Yohnke. They faced no challengers on the ballot.


Randy Jacobson was the write-in winner for an open supervisor position that was previously held by Kay Satterlie. Jeanine Henneman was re-elected as treasurer.


Ron Klimek, incumbent, was re-elected. He was running unopposed.


Supervisor Dan New and treasurer Cindy VanLuik, both incumbents, were re-elected. They faced no challengers.


Supervisor Dan Diedrich, running unopposed, was re-elected. John Rolf was elected to the treasurer position that's being vacated by Palmer Krueger, who is retiring after 39 years of service to the township.


Richard "Dick" Bromley was re-elected as supervisor. He was running unopposed.


Supervisor Dean Radil and treasurer Julie Freier, both incumbents, were re-elected. No one filed against them.


The two incumbents up for election, supervisor Dale Diedrich and treasurer Barb Guenther, were both re-elected. They faced no challengers.


Troy Hart was the winner of a race for a one-year supervisor term, defeating Brett Bogenries. Incumbent Wayne Martin, running unopposed, was elected to the other supervisor spot up for election. Incumbent treasurer Renae Odens was also re-elected.


A total of 43 voters turned out for the election, about twice as many as last year. The winners were Ken Kuhn for supervisor and Patricia Bock for treasurer. They were both incumbents running unopposed.


Fred Krafthefer was the write-in winner for supervisor. He had been appointed to the position after incumbent Bruce Strandskov moved away. Florence Chlian, running unopposed, was elected treasurer. She replaces Patricia Botner, who retired from the post.


Dave Boogaard was elected as supervisor and Newton Earl was elected treasurer. Both are incumbents.


Incumbent Gene Rasmusen was re-elected as supervisor, receiving all 12 votes that were cast.


Incumbent Joe Martinson, who was running unopposed, was elected supervisor. Treasurer Kevin Holl was also re-elected. He faced no challengers.


Supervisor Brad Lusty, running unopposed, was re-elected. Incumbent treasurer Henry Ahrens was also re-elected and faced no challengers.


Brent Johnson, incumbent supervisor, was re-elected, as was treasurer Shirley Thompson. They were both unopposed on the ballot.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236