Weather Forecast


Alexandria man dies after his car crashes off Highway 29

A 42-year-old Alexandria man died following a one-vehicle crash on Highway 29 Friday night.

Kyle Neitzert was driving his 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix GT2 north, just south of the intersection with County Road 13 at about 10:30 p.m. when he lost control of the vehicle, according to the Minnesota State Patrol.

The car went off the road, through a field and into a grove of trees.

Neitzert, who was wearing a seat belt, was taken to the Douglas County Hospital, where he died the following day.

Memorial services will be held Friday, October 5 at 11 a.m. at Immanuel Lutheran Church in Parkers Prairie. Visitation is one hour prior to the service on Friday at the church.

Neitzert was a 1988 graduate and standout wrestler at Perham High School. He studied neon sign design at Northwest Technical College in Detroit Lakes and worked at a sign business in Watertown, South Dakota for a short time before returning to Perham.

He worked for various companies, including Northern Mechanical Drilling in Perham, Swift Turkey Plant in Detroit Lakes, Ripley's Construction in Erhard and construction for a short time in Florida.

He was currently working as a groundskeeper/custodian for the Douglas County Courthouse in Alexandria.

Neitzert was an avid hunter and shooter.

He is survived by his mother, Dorothy Neitzert of Parkers Prairie; two brothers, Darby (Lanette) Neitzert of Frazee and Michael Neitzert of Parkers Prairie; and two sisters, Deborah Spears of Alexandria and Jeanie (Bill) Schalow of Evansville.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236