Weather Forecast


Two more candidates file for Douglas County Board

With the final day of filing ticking away, more candidates have emerged for the Douglas County commissioner elections.

Because of redistricting, all five seats are up for election this year and all five districts are being contested.

The latest candidates to file are Carol Wenner in District 5 (currently represented by Dan Olson), and Bonnie Huettl in District 1 (where Jerry Johnson is the incumbent).

Filings end at 4:30 p.m. today. Here's how things stand as of 11:30 a.m.:

--District 1 - Johnson and Huettl have filed. The district includes the townships of Lund, Evansville, Brandon, Moe, Millerville, Leaf Valley, Ida, Urness, Holmes City and Solem and the cities of Evansville, Brandon, Millerville, Garfield and Kensington.

--District 2 - Norm Salto (incumbent), Jim Hafdal and James Stratton have filed. The district includes the townships of Hudson, LaGrand and Lake Mary, the city of Forada and parts of Alexandria - Ward 1, precinct 1 and Ward 5, precinct 1.

--District 3 - Bev Bales (incumbent), Jerry Rapp and David Erickson have filed. The district includes the townships of Miltona, Spruce Hill, Osakis, Orange, Carlos and Belle River, and the cities of Osakis, Miltona, Nelson and Carlos.

--District 4 - Paul Anderson (incumbent), Bill Dropik, Charlie Meyer and Don Kortie Jr. have filed. The district includes Alexandria Township and parts of the city of Alexandria - Ward 1, precinct 2 and Ward 2.

--District 5 - Olson and Wenner have filed. The district includes three wards in Alexandria - Ward 3, Ward 4 and Ward 5, precinct 2.

Because more than two candidates have filed, a primary election will be held in Districts 2, 3 and 4 on Tuesday, August 14.

Four of the five commissioners in Todd County are up for election as well.

The area affecting Osakis, District 5, is represented by incumbent Randy Neumann, who has filed for re-election. As of Tuesday, he faced no challengers.

District 5 includes the cities of Osakis (the portion that's in Todd County) and West Union, and the townships of Gordon, Leslie, Little Sauk, Round Prairie, Birchdale, Kandota and West Union.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236