Weather Forecast


Card boys' cross country: Tough state meet awaits Card duo

Contributed Alexandria's Will Sieling (left) and Zac Bartolomeo (right) will compete at the State Class AA meet in Northfield tomorrow.

An impressive array of runners will be facing Cardinals Zac Bartolomeo and Will Sieling at tomorrow's State Class AA cross country meet, but the two Redbirds have been here before.

Sieling will be competing in his fourth consecutive state meet, and has improved both his time and his place in each season, including his 17th place finish last year.

Bartolomeo will be competing in his second event this year after finishing 51st last season.

One of those looking to grab the state championship is senior Cole O'Brien of Burnsville, the highest returning qualifier. He is looking to improve on last year's runner-up showing.

Another tough competitor is senior Mubarik Musa of Worthington. Musa won the Class A crown in 2009 and placed third in Class A in 2010.

In addition to O'Brien and Musa, three other 2010 Top 10 finishers also return: senior Josh Thorson of Wayzata, sixth; senior Jensen Orlow of Holy Family Catholic of Victoria, seventh in Class A; and senior Joel Reichow of White Bear Lake Area, ninth.

Eight of last year's 16 teams will be back, including the runners-up from Moorhead. The Spuds have five runners with previous state meet experience. Other teams returning from last year's meet are Owatonna, Rosemount, Burnsville, Stillwater Area, Edina, Andover, and Forest Lake. The other teams in the field are Rochester Mayo, Chanhassen, Marshall, White Bear Lake Area, Centennial of Circle Pines, Mounds View, Eden Prairie, and Willmar.


1976 (13th), 1977 (6th), 1978 (7th), 1979 (6th), 1981 (11th), 1982 (13th), 1983 (10th), 1985 (16th), 1986 (14th), 1987 (10th), 1989 (12th), 1990 (4th), 1991 (14th), 1992 (6th), 1993 (11th), 1994 (6th), 1995 (7th), 1996 (3rd), 1997 (2nd), 1999 (4th), 2000 (8th), 2001 (14th), 2002 (13th), 2004 (8th), 2006 (8th), 2008 (8th), 2009 (10th), 2010 (8th).

WILL SIELING - 2010 (17th) 16:28.4, 2009 (41st) 17:06.2, 2008 (77th) 17:29.5

ZAC BARTOLOMEO - 2010 (51st) 17:02.0.

Follow #AlexMN @EchoPress Sports Editor Lori Mork on Twitter at @morkwriter.