Weather Forecast


Runestone Electric Association celebrates 75th annual meeting

More than 600 Runestone Electric Association (REA) members and guests gathered Saturday, March 26 at Jefferson High School in Alexandria for the 75th annual meeting of the electric cooperative.

During the business meeting, Board President Audrey Hjelle and CEO Rick Banke gave reports on the activities and financial condition of the cooperative. The cooperative reported assets of $60 million with more than 13,600 accounts at the end of 2010.

Results from the board of directors' election were announced at the meeting. Incumbent directors Audrey Hjelle, District 3; Bryan Withers, District 6; and Mike Johnson, District 7 were re-elected for three-year terms.

Additional speakers included outgoing Member Advisory Council Chairman Andy Lopez and Bill O'Brien, Runestone Electric's representative on the Great River Energy Board of Directors.

At the close of the annual meeting, President Hjelle honored Bruce Ferris, Jeff Dreier and Jerome Hagen for completing nine years of service on the Operation Round Up Trust Board.

At an organizational meeting after the annual meeting, the following officers were elected: president - Audrey Hjelle; vice president - Bryan Withers; secretary - Barbara Johnson; and treasurer - Bill O'Brien. Other directors include Ron Holm, Mike Johnson and Wilbur Burquest.

Runestone Electric Association is a Touchstone EnergyÒ cooperative providing electricity and other services to more than 13,600 rural residents, farms and businesses in parts of the following counties: Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Otter Tail, Todd and Stearns.