Weather Forecast


Klobuchar honored by Minnesota Soybean Growers

Washington, D.C. - U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar, a member of the U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee, received the "Outstanding National Legislator Award" from the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association (MSGA) for her dedication to the agriculture industry and commodity groups. Minnesota is the third-largest producer of soybeans in the country.

"Whether we're talking about biotech breakthroughs for enhancing nutritional values, new soy alternatives for meat and dairy products, or the development of sustainable energy sources, the soybean industry is reshaping our nation's most vital economic sectors," Klobuchar said. "Now is the time to think anew and to act anew, and that begins with the kind of innovation the soybean industry is advancing every day."

"As president of MSGA, I am honored to recognize Senator Klobuchar with this award," said Kurt Krueger, a soybean farmer from Rothsay, MN and President of MSGA. "She has been a steadfast champion for Minnesota's soybean farmers on several occasions, including the recent extension of the biodiesel tax incentive. She is certainly a dedicated ally to the farm community, and I am looking forward to building our relationship in the future."

The Minnesota Soybean Growers Association also honored former Minnesota state legislator Al Juhnke with the "Outstanding State Legislator Award."

Klobuchar has been a leader in the Senate in supporting the development of homegrown biofuels and introduced the Securing America's Future with Energy and Sustainable Technologies Act with Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD) last year.