Weather Forecast


ELECTION UPDATE 8:01 PM: Newspaper to provide election night coverage

The polls are now officially closed in Douglas County. Ballots from the 38 precincts in the county will be brought to the courthouse and tabulated soon, typically within the next hour.

The Echo Press will provide up-to-the-minute results of key local races as well as totals for state and federal races that Douglas County voters will help decide.

Remember to periodically refresh your browser to check for more updates and updated vote totals throughout the night.

Links to several key races are available near the top of the front page of our website. Clicking on those will take you right to the latest totals of that particular race. Here are the races the Echo Press is spotlighting tonight:

U.S. Representative District 7 (Collin Peterson, Lee Byberg, Glen Menze and Gene Waldorf)

Minnesota Senate District 11 (Bill Ingebrigtsen and Jim Thoreen)

Minnesota House District 11A (Torrey Westrom, Dave Holman and Bennett Smith)

Minnesota House District 11B (Mary Franson, Amy Hunter and Bert Pexsa)

Douglas County Attorney (Chris Karpan and Chad Larson)

Douglas County Commissioner District 2 (Norm Salto and Elroy Frank)

Douglas County Commissioner District 4 (Paul Anderson and Arlan Kakac)

Douglas County Commissioner District 5 (Dan Olson and write-in candidate Bill Dropik; please note that the write-in totals will reflect the totals of not only Dropik but also any other write-ins as well.)

Todd County Sheriff (Peter Mikkelson and Scott Dirkes)

Todd County Question 1 (whether to bond up to $4.3 million to renovate the Todd County Historic Courthouse)

Alexandria City Council Ward 1 (Cindy Bigger, Virgil Batesole and Don Kleine)

Brandon City Council (elect two - Mary Lee Korkowski, Kevin Challes and Scott Dutcher)

Carlos City Council (elect two - Daniel Plowman, Teresa Zwieg, Jeff Schiffman and Rick Pierson)

Evansville City Council (elect two - Peter Mount, Richard Novotny and George Belmore)

Osakis City Council (elect two - Bruce Pederson, Randy Anderson and Tim Nielsen)

Evansville Mayor (Terry Aasness and Ron Buse)

Kensington Mayor (Ralph Gunderson and Jim Schecker)

Osakis Mayor (Keith Emerson and Paul Hartmann)

Alexandria School District 206 Board Position 4 (Sara Reemts, Sandy Susag and Laura Knudsen)

Osakis School District 213 Board (elect three - Dave Carlson, Genny Lebrun, Tom Grundman, Craig Cody, Steve Hilde, Monica Klimek, Melissa Engfer and Aimee Goodwin)

Brandon School District 207 Board (elect three - Debora Sullivan, Kevin Lanner, Randy Bettermann and Tessa Dutcher)

Parkers Prairie School District 547 Board, two-year term (Mitch Monson and Renato Molina)

West Central Area School District 2342 Question 1 (whether to revoke the current five-year $950/pupil referendum and replace it with a five-year $1,370/pupil referendum)

Periodically throughout the night, the Echo Press will provide analysis and information about local races and voting trends.

Detailed precinct-by-precinct election results in Douglas County, and follow-up comments and reactions from candidates, will be printed in Friday's Echo Press.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236