Weather Forecast


Mayor Ness elected to VP post with League of Minnesota Cities

Mayor H. Dan Ness of Alexandria has been elected as first vice president of the board of directors for the League of Minnesota Cities.

Elections for new board members and officers were held last week at the league's annual conference at the St. Cloud Civic Center.

Other league board officers for 2010-11 are: president - Richard Brainerd, council member, Mahtomedi; and second vice president - Betsy Hodges, council member, Minneapolis.

New members elected to the board are: Shawn Gillen, city administrator, Grand Rapids; Steve Nasby, city administrator, Windom; Rodney Otterness, city administrator, International Falls; and Rhonda Pownell, council member, Northfield.

The League of Minnesota Cities is a non-profit, membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action.

The League serves its more than 830 members through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management and other services.

For more information, visit