Weather Forecast


Seventy five years of service celebrated at Runestone Electric Association annual meeting

More than 600 Runestone Electric Association (REA) members and guests gathered Saturday, March 27 at Jefferson High School in Alexandria for the 74th annual meeting of the electric cooperative.

During the business meeting, Board President Bill O'Brien and CEO Rick Banke gave reports on the activities and financial condition of the cooperative. REA was incorporated in 1935, making 2010 the 75th anniversary for the member-owned cooperative.

Guest speaker for the annual meeting was Eric Olsen, Great River Energy's vice president and general counsel. Great River Energy is REA's power supplier. Olsen shared details on efforts Great River has undertaken to help control costs while providing reliable, low-cost electricity.

Results from the board of directors' election were announced at the meeting. Two board positions were up for election. Wilbur Burquest was reelected in District One and Ronald Holm was elected in District Four. The director position is a three year term.

During the meeting, Operation Round Up board members Gerald Johnson and Tom Burquest were recognized for completing seven years of service on the REA Trust Board.

At an organizational meeting after the annual meeting, the following officers were elected: president - Audrey Hjelle; vice president - Bryan Withers; secretary - Barbara Johnson and treasurer - Ron Holm. Other directors include Bill O'Brien, Mike Johnson and Wilbur Burquest.

Runestone Electric Association is a Touchstone Energy cooperative providing electricity and other services to more than 13,500 rural residents, farms and businesses in parts of the following counties: Douglas, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Otter Tail, Todd and Stearns.