Weather Forecast


Farmers eligible for flood-disaster loans

Farmers in 28 Minnesota counties, including Douglas County, are eligible to apply for low-interest loans through the Minnesota Rural Finance Authority (RFA) to offset the cost of losses caused by severe weather and flooding this spring.

The counties include Becker, Beltrami, Chippewa, Clay, Clearwater, Cook, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Lake, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Otter Tail, Pennington, Polk, Pope, Red Lake, Roseau, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wadena, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

RFA's Disaster Loan Program provides low-interest loans to farmers following an official Presidential Disaster Declaration to recover the cost of losses not covered by insurance, such as building repairs or replacement, equipment repairs or replacement and extra feed expenses from lost crops.

Loans are available at an interest rate of 3 percent and the length of the loan is based on the use of funds, not to exceed 10 years.

Farmers work through their local lender to complete a loan application and apply for RFA participation.

The RFA disaster assistance loans will be available to producers in the designated counties until April 22, 2010, or one year from the date of the declared disaster.

For more information or eligibility requirements, contact Gary Blahosky, RFA Senior Financial Officer, at (651) 201-6666 or e-mail

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) administers a variety of low-interest loan programs through the state's RFA. Visit the MDA website at for a list of these programs.