Weather Forecast


Echo Press publisher elected president of Minnesota Newspaper Association

Jody Hanson MNA president

Jody Hanson, publisher of the Echo Press newspaper in Alexandria, was elected president of the Minnesota Newspaper Association on Friday, January 30.

The election was held during the annual meeting of the association at the Sheraton Bloomington Hotel.

Hanson is the 129th president of the Minnesota Newspaper Association.

A Brandon native, Hanson joined the Echo Press staff in 1984 as a sales associate. She was named sales manager six years later, assistant general manager in 1998 and publisher in 1999.

The Echo Press, with nearly 50 employees, is a twice-a-week paper with a circulation of more than 10,000.

The Sunday Lakeland Shopping Guide is delivered to over 27,500 homes in the retail trade area. The company also has its newspaper online at

Under Hanson, the Echo Press has been a consistent winner in state and national newspaper association contests for advertising, journalism, photography and design.

Hanson was elected to the MNA board of directors in 2002. She has actively served on the MNA advertising committee and member services committee and recently completed the Blandin Editors and Publishers Community Leadership program.

Over the years, Hanson has been involved in many civic activities, including serving on the boards for the Alexandria Lakes Area Chamber of Commerce, Community Foundation, United Way and Rotary.

Hanson and her husband, Steve, have two children, Sean and Stephanie (John), and two grandchildren, Emma and Stella.

"It is a unique honor for me to be elected as president of the Minnesota Newspaper Association board of directors for a second term. In 2008 we faced many new challenges in our industry and 2009 is looking to bring us even more - that is why I chose the theme for this year's convention to be 'We're Still the One!' We are still the number-one source for news, sports and advertising in our communities. I am going to dedicate 2009 to keeping it that way."

Others elected at the annual meeting include:

Vice presidents - Jake Benson, Proctor Journal; Matt McMillan, Hutchinson Leader; and Bill Albrecht, St. Cloud Times.

Directors - Kevin Anderson, Mille Lacs Messenger, Isle; Pete Mohs, Lake Country Echo, Pequot Lakes; and Rollin Bergman, Page 1 Publications, East Grand Forks.

Treasurer - Joni Harms, Daily Globe, Worthington.

Immediate past president - John Stone, Starbuck Times.