Weather Forecast


Conservation trust offers scholarships

Residents of Douglas, Pope, Grant or Otter Tail counties may apply for environmental science scholarships from the Pioneer Heritage Conservation Trust.

Scholarship winners will be chosen based on scholastic success and demonstrated interest in the environmental sciences. Applications are open to students who are or will be attending a college or university as a full-time student with a major in the field of environmental sciences.

Scholarships include the Vernon P. Ostrom Scholarship, the Harvey K. Nelson Scholarship, and the Dean A. Elmer Scholarship, each for $500 or more.

Scholarship applications will be accepted through February.

Established in 1985, the mission of the trust is to promote long-term stewardship of the land and its resources through conservation projects, conservation education, grants and scholarships. Members and guests are invited to attend the quarterly meetings held in Evansville.

The trust also offers scholarships to school classes for educational experience in environmental science or conservation, youth scholarships to attend a conservation or environmental camp, and scholarships for teachers to gain continuing education in the environmental sciences.

For more information, including application forms, visit or email