Weather Forecast


And the award goes to...

The Alexandria Area Arts Association held the second annual Andria Awards, named in honor of the Andria Theatre, on May 23. It presented awards in 35 categories to honor participants in 2012-2013. (Contributed photo)

The Alexandria Area Arts Association (AAAA) honored participants in 2012-2013 programming at the second annual Andria Awards on May 23. The Andria Awards are named in honor of the Andria Theatre, the downtown theater the AAAA calls home.

Awards were presented in 35 categories ranging from acting to technical awards. Each production director nominates cast members for the awards and the AAAA season ticket holders, members and the community at large votes. Nearly 200 community members voted in this year's Andria Awards.

The winners include:

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play or Musical: Jessica Chipman as Martha in The Secret Garden.

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play or Musical: Chuck Grussing as Uncle Billy in It's a Wonderful Life.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play or Musical: Lindsey Roers as Rita La Porta in Lucky Stiff.

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play or Musical: Kevin Lee as Clarence Odbody in It's a Wonderful Life.

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play or Musical: Becky Byrne as Annabel Glick in Lucky Stiff.

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play or Musical: David Christman as Archibald Craven in The Secret Garden.

Best Ensemble Award: Jamie Sandberg, Ben Stoeck, Bruce Wegner, Carolyn Giannone from Lucky Stiff.

Best Romantic Couple: Ernie and Cookie (Kip Sundlee and Jamie Sandberg) from Rumors.

Best Onstage Duo: Rita and Vinnie (Lindsey Roers and Alex Johnson) from Lucky Stiff.

Best Onstage Trio or Quartet: The Gormans and The Gantzes (Nancy Klepetka, David Thompson, Sherry Bruckner, Jon Provance) from Rumors.

Best Villain: Gene Meier as Mr. Potter from It's a Wonderful Life.

Best Entrance: Ernie Cusack's Burnt Finger (Kip Sundlee) from Rumors.

Best Scene Stealing: The Dead Body Dances from Lucky Stiff (Gary Lund as the Body of Tony Hendon).

Outstanding Dance Sequence: Come Spirit Come Charm from The Secret Garden (Lindsey Roers, choreography; Benjamin Klipfel, direction).

Outstanding Vocal Group Number: The Storms from The Secret Garden (Rachel Capistrant, vocal direction; Mark Graf, orchestra direction; Benjamin Klipfel, production direction).

Outstanding Vocal Duet, Trio or Quartet: I Heard Someone Crying from The Secret Garden (David Christman, Dedra Zwieg, Bailey Myrin).

Outstanding Vocal Solo: Hold On from The Secret Garden (Jessica Chipman as Martha).

Outstanding Crew Member: Mark Graf for Lucky Stiff and The Secret Garden.

Outstanding Production Volunteer: Sentenced to Serve Crew for work on set construction.

Best Hair and Make-Up Design: The Secret Garden (Deb Long and Daniel Walstad, design).

Best Costume Design: The Secret Garden (Daniel Walstad, design).

Outstanding Costume: Rita La Porta (Lindsey Roers, concept and design) from Lucky Stiff.

Best Prop Design: Lucky Stiff (Holly Wallerich, design).

Outstanding Community Supporter: Yesterday's (loan of set pieces) for The Secret Garden.

Best Lighting Design: The Secret Garden (Quincy Roers, design and tech).

Best Set Design: The Secret Garden (Quincy Roers, design; Benjamin Klipfel, direction).

Outstanding Lobby Display: Lucky Stiff.

Outstanding Window Display: Rumors.

Outstanding Poster Design: Keri Mohror for It's a Wonderful Life.

Best Special Event: New Year's Improv, Branson to Bemidji (Theatre Off The Cuff: Colin Hearn, David Christman).

Outstanding Direction of a Play or Musical: Benjamin Klipfel for The Secret Garden.

Outstanding Newcomer Award: Carolyn Giannone (Dreamer, The Secret Garden, Dominique, Lucky Stiff).

Best Show: The Secret Garden (Benjamin Klipfel, direction; Rachel Capistrant, vocal direction; Mark Graf, orchestral direction).

In addition to the balloted categories, the AAAA board of directors gives two awards each year.

The Above and Beyond Award: For dedication to the arts and a willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty. The first Above and Beyond Award was presented to Quincy Roers.

Outstanding Event Award is presented to the play, musical, special event or presentation that has the greatest contribution to the aesthetic, artistic and financial success of the AAAA. That award was presented to It's A Wonderful Life (Sharon Thalmann, director).