Weather Forecast


High school seniors nominated for AAA program

Shanee' Herd and Ted Deitz, seniors at Jefferson High School (JHS) in Alexandria, were nominated to represent the school in the Academics, Arts and Athletics (AAA) program in Section 8AA competition.

AAA winners are students who participate in Minnesota State High School League athletic programs, fine arts activities and carry a 3.0 or higher grade point average.

Herd is the daughter of John and Marnee' Herd. She is involved in volleyball, hockey and track and was named captain of the hockey team. She received Central Lakes Conference All Conference honors three consecutive years in volleyball and last year in hockey and has participated in three state tournaments as a member of the girls' hockey team.

Herd is involved in choir and is a member of the 2120 Team and the National Honor Society. She is an A honor roll student, a Spotlight on Scholarship Athlete, a Central Lakes Conference Scholar Athlete and has received All-State Academic awards.

Deitz is the son of Steve and Amy Deitz. He is a member of the JHS student council, the 2120 Team, SLAM and math league. He is involved in football and basketball and was selected captain of both teams.

Selected as the team's Most Valuable Lineman and Most Valuable Player this fall, Deitz received Central Lakes Conference All-Conference and All-State honors in football.

Deitz is involved in band, choir, JHS Carolers, theater, ACDA All-State Honor Choir, MMEA All-State Choir, Concordia College High School Honor Band and has performed with the Minnesota Opera. He received All-Conference, regional and state honors in band and All-State honors in choir. He is an A honor roll member, a Spotlight on Scholarship athlete, a Central Lakes Conference Scholar Athlete and has received All-State Academic awards.

Herd and Deitz advanced to the section competition and will be honored at the Section AAA Recognition banquet at Cragun's Resort on Sunday, March 3. Section winners will advance to the state competition.

State AAA Award recipients are selected by a multi-level process involving the League's member schools and administrative regions.

League officials will announce the four award recipients, a girl and a boy from both a Class A and Class AA school, at an on-court recognition ceremony held during the boys basketball state tournament on Saturday, March 23.

Each award recipient will receive a four-year $1,000 scholarship.