Weather Forecast


District 206 students chosen for all-conference jazz ensemble

Seven musicians from the Jefferson High School (JHS) band in Alexandria were recently selected as members of the 2013 Central Lakes Conference All-Conference Jazz Ensemble.

They include Samantha Engstrom, trombone; Amelia Golde, trumpet; Paul Meland, tenor saxophone; Andrew Storm, tenor saxophone; Sam Carlson, piano; Mitch Maday, bass trombone; and Matt Bittmann, baritone saxophone.

To be selected to the ensemble, students must be outstanding jazz musicians in their own jazz programs and show leadership and proficiency on their instruments.

Students selected to the group had the chance to work in sectionals with a section coach and with a professional jazz educator/director. This year, the festival director was Dr. Kyle Mack, professor of jazz education at North Dakota State University in Fargo.

The festival was held on October 28 with Sauk Rapids-Rice High School serving as host for the event.

Sam Carlson, pianoAmelia Golde, trumpetAndrew Storm, tenor saxPaul Meland, tenor saxMitch Maday, bass tromboneSamantha Engstrom, trombone