Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today


Emily Hoeper of Alexandria received the Lilda Lybeck Flynn Memorial Scholarship Award for the 2013-14 academic year at the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks. Students who have been in the nursing program for two years, show dedication and are in need of assistance are eligible for the award.

• • •

The following students each received an $800 scholarship from the Douglas County Hospital Auxiliary. They are seeking education in health care-related fields.

Alexandria: Heidi Krueger, Southwest Minnesota State University; Jordan Langner, University of St. Thomas; Mikayla Lucas, South Dakota State University; Emily Peck, College of St. Scholastica; Sherry Schaffer, Alexandria Technical and Community College; Kristen Sjostrand, University of North Dakota; Lauren Trumm, North Dakota State University.

Carlos: Jennifer Sukke, University of Cincinnati.

Villard: Sharon Weber, Alexandria Technical and Community College.