Weather Forecast


Jefferson High School pumped up to celebrate Homecoming

Jefferson High School (JHS) in Alexandria is gearing up to celebrate its Homecoming the week of September 22-28.

The 2013 Homecoming royalty for coronation include sophomores Lauren Niska and Sam Helgeson and juniors Amanda Haak and Parker Revering.

Senior queen candidates include Sarah Bruzek, Heidi Moe, Katlin Rice and Lacey Werman.

Senior king candidates include Riley Hvezda, Bryce Klang, David Krivanek and Mitch Peck.

JHS principal Chad Duwenhoegger will host an informal open house on Saturday, September 28 from 8 to 10 a.m. to accommodate any alumni or community members who wish to come into JHS and look around.

Following is a schedule of other homecoming events:


Noon: Powder-Puff football at JHS Citizen's Field.

2:30 p.m. Powder-Puff volleyball at JHS gymnasium. Coordinated by JHS Student Council.


9:35 a.m. Homecoming Royalty Coronation at JHS gymnasium. Coordinated by JHS Student Council.



Noon: Homecoming Community Parade. Parade Grand Marshals are Vern Anderson, Marjorie Van Gorp and Robert Roubik, 2013 Education Foundation Hall of Fame Inductees.

Parade parameters: one float per activity, organization or business. Parade participation form is due before noon on Monday, September 23 to Sheree Oberg at JHS.

Sponsored by JHS homecoming parade committee.

Immediately following the parade: Community pep rally on practice fields. Cash prizes awarded for first, second and third place student floats.

Sponsored by JHS A Club, JHS homecoming parade committee and JHS student council.

12:30 p.m. Tailgate Party at Citizen's Field. Will include brats, hamburgers, hotdogs, turkey burgers, chips, pop and cookies.

Sponsored by the Alexandria Cardinal Athletic Foundation.

3 p.m. Cardinal football homecoming game vs. the Willmar Cardinals at Citizen's Field.

Halftime: Presentation of royalty and recognition of alumni football players.

8 to 11 p.m. Homecoming dance for JHS 10th-12th grade students at JHS.

Coordinated by JHS Student Council.