Weather Forecast


District 206 names top spellers

Grade level champions at the District 206 spelling bee were (back row) Emily Prestby, Camille Johnson, Alli Prestby; (front) Jaya Hatlestad, Isaiah Barnes, Olivia Maday. District champion was Eric Brand and runner up was Andrew Gass.

Seventy-two students in Alexandria District 206 in grades 1 to 6 competed in the annual elementary spelling bee held January 22 at Lincoln Elementary School (LES) in Alexandria.

The first round of the spelling bee is a written test of 30 to 40 words, depending on the grade level. Top scorers proceeded to the oral round. Oral round participants and grade level champions are listed below.

• 1st grade - Brady McCoy, LES; Elijah Holthaus, LES; Grant Rebrovich, Voyager Elementary School (VES); and Jaya Hatlestad, Woodland Elementary School (WES). Grade level champion was Hatlestad.

• 2nd grade - Skyler Doty, WES; Donny Helfrich, WES; Olivia Maday, LES; and Cole Sorenson Garfield Elementary School (GES). Grade level champion was Maday.

• 3rd grade - Elliana Laton, LES; Miranda Danielson, LES; Beau Granning, GES; Isaiah Barnes, VES; and Dakota Zollner, Miltona Elementary School. Barnes was the grade level champion.

• 4th grade - Maggie Thelen, LES; Mallory Yanda, LES; Alli Prestby, WES; and Taylor Dunker, Carlos Elementary School (CES). Prestby was grade level champion.

• 5th grade - Micah Christenson, LES; Camille Johnson, VES; Dylan Erlandson, CES; and Kendall Kohler, WES. Johnson was grade level champion.

• 6th grade - Andrew Johnson, LES; Ashleigh Cofer, LES; Brady Christenson, VES; and Emily Prestby, WES. Grade level champion was Prestby.

In addition, 15 students in grades 5 to 8 competed in the annual district spelling bee held January 29 at Discovery Middle School (DMS). (The top spellers from grades 5 and 6 listed above joined the following DMS students.) This bee determines who will represent the district at the regional spelling bee event.

• 7th grade - Eric Branch, Carl Branch, Anna Peterson and Michael Schluter.

• 8th grade - Andrew Gass, Carly Snell, Savannah Wrobleski and Kristen Carroll.

After taking a written test of 40 words, seven spellers advanced to the oral round - E. Prestby, Christenson, E. Branch, C. Branch, Gass, Carroll and Snell.

After 11 rounds, E. Branch was declared the District 206 spelling bee champion, with Gass the runner-up. E. Branch will represent District 206 by competing at the regional spelling bee on February 23 in Fergus Falls.