Weather Forecast



October 21, 2016
LETTER: This house was a welcoming home
October 21, 2016 - 7:00am
LETTER: Find out more about stuttering
October 21, 2016 - 7:00am
Dave Smiglewski
GUEST EDITORIAL: Mayors: Let's support candidates who will deliver results
October 21, 2016 - 6:30am
The tennis courts at the intersection of Jefferson Street and 17th Avenue in Alexandria are owned by the Douglas County Hospital. The plan is to bulldoze them and add green space, including trees and grass. (Will Benson | Echo Press)
YOU ASKED: Who owns the tennis courts?
October 21, 2016 - 6:30am
The sky glows molten gold over Lake Osakis as the sun peeks over the horizon for a new day. Anne Wiener captured the warm ambiance from her kitchen window and noted that the motionless flag in the distance resembles a sailboat. If you have a great photo, email it with a brief description to
Photo of the Week - Osakis sunrise
October 21, 2016 - 6:30am
For the Record October 21, 2016
October 21, 2016 - 6:30am
Shawn Olson
Candidates for Legislature vie for votes
October 21, 2016 - 6:00am
Led by student ambassadors, Sam Kuennen and Kendall Kohler, U.S. Sen. Al Franken, takes a tour of Alexandria Area High School Tuesday. Following behind him are Superintendent Julie Critz and Principal Chad Duwenhoegger. (Al Edenloff | Echo Press)
Sen. Franken 'knocked out' by new high school
October 21, 2016 - 6:00am
Jeff Karrow serves as both the Alexandria Fire Chief and the owner of Karrow Jewelers. (Beth Leipholtz | Echo Press)
Fire and ice: Jewelry business owner also serves as fire chief
October 21, 2016 - 6:00am
Dawn Crouse, Recorder
It's up to the voters
October 21, 2016 - 6:00am
October 20, 2016
West I-94 lane near Evansville to close Monday
October 20, 2016 - 5:40pm
County Road 3 to close for roadwork
October 20, 2016 - 4:50pm
Reward offered to solve theft at Central Specialties trailer
October 20, 2016 - 3:19pm
Alexandria's Steve Henry (left) and Alexandria native Ben Rapp take a photo with an Alaskan Bull moose that Henry harvested on a hunt earlier this fall. (Submitted photo)
A memorable moose in Alaska
October 20, 2016 - 3:03pm
5AA football: Osakis to face Benson in section quarterfinals
October 20, 2016 - 11:41am