How do you replace a license plate?My pickup was involved in a collision that took off the front license plate. In the mess of the accident (and snow), it was never recovered.
By: By Trooper Andy Schmidt, Minnesota State Patrol, Alexandria Echo Press
Question 1: My pickup was involved in a collision that took off the front license plate. In the mess of the accident (and snow), it was never recovered. I have a plate mounted on the rear of the truck, but am wondering what I do to get a replacement for the front.
Answer 1: This happens to many Minnesota drivers. Go to your local license bureau where you get your license plates. Explain your situation and fill out the proper form and you will get a new set of plates. You will be required to pay a fee but you will not have to repay the registration tax. I want to point out that this is very important from my perspective. It will help let us law enforcement officers know that your old license plate is no longer valid and that can help us catch someone that may have found your plate after the crash and decided to use it.
Question 2: Please remind people of a newer law that took effect in 2009: passing on a two lane road, where the speed limit is at least 55 mph. If the person ahead of you is going less than 55 mph, then you can pass (exceeding the speed limit up to 10 mph over), and then decreasing speed back down to 55 mph when the pass is complete. When I talked about this law in class last night in my senior driving class, many of them asked, “How come we never knew about it?” They asked me to send an e-mail to you to have you put it in an article.
Answer 2: This is covered by statute 169.14 sb 2a, which states, “Notwithstanding subdivision 2, the speed limit is increased by 10 miles per hour over the posted speed limit when the driver:
(1) is on a two-lane highway having one lane for each direction of travel;
(2) is on a highway with a posted speed limit that is equal to or higher than 55 miles per hour;
(3) is overtaking and passing another vehicle proceeding in the same direction of travel; and
(4) meets the requirements in section 169.18.”
To help you out, some subdivision 2 lists posted speed limits and according to conditions while 169.18 would indicate times/areas where passing is not allowed, such as no passing zones.
Andy’s translation: the 10 mph increase of speed for passing will not apply if the road conditions (i.e. snow and ice) do not allow for it, if the pass could not be done safely or in a no passing zone.
According to the Ted Foss law, when on a multi-lane road and approaching an emergency vehicle with lights flashing, stopped on the side, drivers are required to move if possible. State Troopers are out there to help and protect you. Please help keep us safer by giving us that room, when safely possible, for our safety. Our families also thank you!
If you have any questions concerning traffic-related laws in Minnesota, send your questions to Trooper Andy Schmidt, Minnesota State Patrol, 1000 Highway 10 West, Detroit Lakes MN 56501-2205. Or reach me at andrew.schmidt