Weather Forecast


Area Farmers Union members attend convention in Massachusetts

Minnesota Farmers Union (MFU) members will be attending the National Farmers Union (NFU) Convention in Springfield, Massachusetts March 2-6. NFU Policy will be discussed and voted upon. There are also two proposed Special Orders of Business, to adopt a new five year Farm Bill, and also to reform dairy pricing.

"The focus of this year's convention is to send a message to congress of working together for the good of America" says MFU President Doug Peterson. "Working together means passing a five year Farm Bill with positive pricing for dairy."

Minnesotans attending:

Mitchell Farmer-Lies of Belle Plaine will be attending as part of the National Youth Advisory Council (NYAC). He was one of only six people elected by his peers to be on NYAC. Jake will make a presentation to the entire convention body, and help plan next year's NFU All-States Leadership Camp.

Peter and Stacy Ripka of Ogilvie will be attending as members of the Farmers Union Leadership Couples' Program, developed to empower future leaders in Farmers Union and rural communities.

Bessie Klose of Atwater and MFU Vice President Gary Wertish of Renville will be attending as Silver Star Award recipients, the highest award a member can receive for membership recruitment in a given year.

Retired Farmers Union Insurance President, Jim Frederickson of Rogers will be attending as Meritorious Service Award recipient for his humanitarian efforts.

Delegates to the NFU Convention are Jim Falk of Murdock; Judy Moen of Climax; Mike Ratka of Foley; Bill Sorg of Hastings; and MFU Executive Board Member Larry Jacobson of Hitterdal.

MFU President Doug Peterson will be attending as Secretary of the NFU Board of Directors.

Other MFU members attending are: Farmers Union Agency President Rodney Allebach of Menahga; Ross Eischens of Minneota; Merlyn and Sandy Hubin of Hitterdal; Marv and Marlyns Jensen of Kensington; Brian Rohrenbach of Rosemount; Linda Larson of Rosemount; Richard Moen of Clearbrook; Gene Paul of Delavan; Alan and Karen Perish of Browerville; Elly Peterson of Madison; Lisa Syverson of Ulen; and Jessica Ratka of Foley.