Weather Forecast


Farmers in Douglas County may qualify for disaster aid

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 11 counties in Minnesota as natural disaster areas due to the combine effects of excessive rain, excessive heat, high winds, tornadoes and an early fall frost that occurred during the period of April 1, 2011, through Sept. 15, 2011.

Those counties are: Big Stone, Lac Qui Parle, Sibley, Traverse, Chippewa, Redwood, Stearns, Wright, Grant, Renville and Stevens.

"Minnesota producers can continue to count on USDA to provide emergency assistance during difficult times," said Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. "America's farmers and rural communities are vitally important to our nation's economy, producing the food, feed, fiber and fuel that continue to help us grow and out-compete the rest of the world. President Obama and I are committed to using the resources at our disposal to reduce the impact of this disaster on Minnesota producers and help to get those affected back on their feet."

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Minnesota also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous: Douglas, Anoka, Hennepin, Morrison, Sherburne, Benton, Kandiyohi, Murray, Swift, Brown, Le Sueur, Nicollet, Todd, Carver, Lyon, Otter Tail, Wilkin, Cottonwood, McLeod, Pope, Yellow Medicine, Meeker and Scott.