Weather Forecast


Election to take place for beef promotion council

Elections for five Minnesota Beef Promotion and Research Council directors, including one who will represent Douglas County, will be held during late March.

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture, which coordinates commodity Council elections, will mail ballots to all eligible producers on March 18. The results are expected to be available about April 25.

The Beef Council's funding comes from the Beef Check-off program in which $1 is collected each time a beef or dairy animal is sold. Council activities focus on promotion, research and educational programs to increase the demand for beef.

Board members approve and direct the business activities of the council.

The Minnesota Beef Council is an elected board of 16 beef producers from various parts of the state. Members serve a three-year term and attend four meetings per year.

Individuals who would like to be placed on the ballot must own beef or dairy cattle and live in the district they wish to represent.

Districts holding elections and the counties they include are listed below.

District 1: Becker, Clay, Clearwater, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau.

District 4: Big Stone, Chippewa, Douglas, Grant, Lac Qui Parle, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

District 5: Benton, Carver, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Morrison, Renville, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Todd, Wadena and Wright.

District 7: Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood and Rock.

District 8: Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Freeborn, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Rice, Steele, Waseca and Watonwan.

Mail ballots will automatically be sent to all beef and dairy producers who voted last year. Any producer who wishes to vote and did not vote previously must complete and return a mail ballot request card no later than February 1.

Producers may request a ballot request card by sending an e-mail to, phoning the Minnesota Beef Council at (952) 854-6980 or by writing directly to the Minnesota Beef Council, 2950 Metro Drive 102, Bloomington, MN 55425.