Weather Forecast


Nominate your favorite local businesses today

Area 4-H'ers compete in Regional Project Bowls

Earning grand champion was the Senior Rabbit 1 team, including Daniel Wagner, Nicole Egenes, Darren Radil and Bailey Morris.

Eight teams from Douglas County 4-H participated in Minnesota 4-H Regional Project Bowl events in Foley and Hastings recently.

Patterned after the golden-oldie television show, College Bowl, the Project Bowl challenges teams of three to six youth in their knowledge of certain 4-H project areas.

Currently there are seven different bowls - dairy, dog, general livestock, wildlife, horse, poultry and rabbit.

There are five Regional Bowls followed by the State Bowl. For each bowl there are two divisions - junior and senior. Junior teams are composed of 4-H'ers in grades 3-8 and senior teams are composed of members in grades 4 through 4-H graduation (12+1).

Regional winners advance to the State Bowl and state winners in dairy, general livestock, horse and poultry go on to national contests.

The teams marked with an asterisk* will be going on to compete in the 4-H State Project Bowl on April 17 in Foley. Congratulations to all of the teams.

March 7 Project Bowl

The following local teams attended the Regional Project Bowl in Foley on March 7:

*Senior Rabbit 1: Earning Grand Champion was the team of Daniel Wagner of Brandon (Moe), Darren Radil of Alexandria (Lake Mary Troopers), Nicole Egenes of Alexandria (Chippewans) and Bailey Morris of Brandon (Brandon Happy Knoll).

Senior Rabbit 2: Earning 4th was the team of Brittany Torgrimson of Alexandria (Independent), Patrick Wagner of Brandon (Moe) and Kendra Torgrimson of Alexandria (Independent).

Junior Rabbit 1: Finishing 3rd was the team of Megan Egenes of Alexandria (Chippewans), Daykota Blowers of Brandon (Brandon Happy Knoll), Kayla Parent of Alexandria (Chippewans) and Kayla Egenes of Alexandria (Chippewans).

*Junior Rabbit 2: Earning Reserve Champion was the team of Mitchell Kalpin of Miltona (Happy Go Lucky), Shane Massmann of Osakis (Fancy Farmers), Molly Schouweiler of Alexandria (Chippewans), Molly Maudal of Carlos (Liberty Livewires) and Madison Floden of Carlos (Hoofbeats).

*Junior General Livestock B: Earning Reserve Champion honors was the team of William Schroeder of Brandon (Moe); Grant Yohnke of Carlos (Spruce Hill Rangers), Megan Kokett of Brandon (Moe); Gabrielle Palmer of Carlos (Spruce Hill Rangers) and Nolan Hart of Eagle Bend (Spruce Hill Rangers).

Junior General Livestock A: Earning 6th was the team of Jack Schouweiler of Alexandria (Chippewans), Travis Yohnke of Carlos (Spruce Hill Rangers), Susan Hart of Eagle Bend (Spruce Hill Rangers), Katie Kokett of Brandon (Moe) and Francesca Palmer of Carlos (Spruce Hill Rangers).

*Senior Horse: Earning 4th place was the team of Jenna Hedstrom of Alexandria (Hoofbeats), Samantha Schlosser of Alexandria (Chippewans), Paige Gabrielson of Alexandria (Hoofbeats) and Josh Hedstrom of Alexandria (Hoofbeats).

March 13 Project Bowl

The following local teams attended the Regional Project bowl in Hastings on March 13:

*Junior Poultry: Earning Grand Champion honors was the team of Megen Way of Garfield (Chippewans), Gabby Way of Garfield (Chippewans), Miranda Novak of Alexandria (Chippewans), Jordan Lund of Evansville (Moe) and Sarah Buse of Garfield (Chippewans).