Weather Forecast


Zeithamer chosen as All-State School Board honoree

2014 Minnesota All State School Board members are (back row) Alan Zeithamer of Alexandria, Bob Olson of Mesabi East, Robert Shuey of Pine City and Ronald Evenson of Houston; (front row) Tom Grundman of Osakis, Patsy Green of Robbinsdale and Nadine Schnettler of Rocori. (Contributed)

Seven school board members have been named to the 2014 All State School Board, which is the Minnesota School Boards Association’s (MSBA) most prestigious award. The awards were given during a luncheon on January 16 at MSBA’s annual Leadership Conference.

0 Talk about it

Each year, MSBA’s awards committee selects up to seven individual board members to the All State School Board. There are nearly 2,300 school board members in Minnesota. Board members are nominated by superintendents, fellow board members, parents or community members for their outstanding contributions to public education.

This year’s winners are Alan Ziethamer of Alexandria, Tom Grundman of Osakis, Ronald Evenson of Houston, Robert Olson of Mesabi East, Robert Shuey of Pine City, Patsy Green of Robbinsdale, and Nadine Schnettler of Rocori.

“The All State School Board represents the highest example of board service. These are school board members who are committed to student achievement, determined to build support for their local schools and unwavering in their pursuit of what’s best for students,” MSBA Executive Director Kirk Schneidawind said.

Criteria for the award includes MSBA training, strong leadership; excellence in boardsmanship; communication skills; visionary thinking; demonstration of concern for students, staff and taxpayers; and support for the nomination from stakeholders.

MSBA is a private nonprofit organization that provides cost-saving programs, management support, board training, advocacy, research and referral for Minnesota’s public schools.