Weather Forecast


Error message

Views XML Backend: HTTP response: Service Unavailable. URI:,datePosted,advertisement,classification,slug,ID,title&start=0&rows=5000&sort=slug%20asc

NWTF calling competition at Arrowwood

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
outdoors Alexandria, 56308
Echo Press
(320) 763-3258 customer support
Alexandria Minnesota 225 7th Ave E
P.O. Box 549

The 2014 Minnesota National Wild Turkey Federation sanctioned calling contest is coming to Alexandria.

The Minnesota state chapter is inviting all turkey callers throughout the state and across the country to enter into the contest that will be held at Arrowwood Resort during the NWTF state convention on January 11.

0 Talk about it

Registration for the contest will run from 9 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. that day with a callers’ meeting scheduled to start immediately after that. The contest will begin at 1 p.m.

There will be a Poult Division for those ages 12 and younger with a $25 payout going to the top caller. A JAKES Division for those ages 17 and younger will have a $60 payout going to the first-place winner. A Hunter Division with no age limit will pay $75 to the first-place winner.

The Minnesota State Championship is for all ages and Minnesota residents only. That will pay $120 to first place and an Open Championship for all callers will hand out $150 to the winner. Entry fees for each division are listed below. Plaques are given out in all divisions to the top three placers.

For more information, visit or contact Keith Carlson at or Shane Simpson at

NWTF SANCTIONED CALLING CONTEST POULT DIVISION – Ages 12 and younger; Entry fee - $5; Payouts – First place - $25; Second place - $15; Third place - $5

JAKES DIVISION – Ages 17 and younger; Entry fee - $10; Payouts – First place - $60; Second place - $25

HUNTER DIVISION – No age limit; Payouts – First place - $75; Second place - $50; Third place - $15

OWL HOOTING – All ages – Entry fee - $10; Payout – First place - $60; Second place - $25

MINNESOTA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP – All Ages, Minnesota residents only; Entry fee - $20; Payouts – First place - $120; Second place - $75; Third place - $20

OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP – All callers – Entry fee - $20; Payouts – First place - $150; Second place - $100; Third place - $40