Weather Forecast

Those present at the award ceremony were (back row) Karen Bundermann, 4-H leader; Jim Stratton, Douglas County commissioner; Joe Vene, Association of Minnesota Counties president; Bev Bales and Dan Olson, Douglas County commissioner; Jodi Hintzen, Douglas County 4-H program coordinator; (front row) Lake Mary Troopers members Kodi Bundermann, Logan Filipiak, Mitchel Floding and Brooke Strand; and Jennifer Floding, 4-H leader. (Contributed photo)

Lake Mary Troopers earn award

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
Life Alexandria,Minnesota 56308
Echo Press
Lake Mary Troopers earn award
Alexandria Minnesota 225 7th Ave E
P.O. Box 549

The Lake Mary Troopers 4-H Club of Douglas County, represented by Brooke Strand, Logan Filipiak, Mitchel Floding and Kodi Bundermann, received the 2013 Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC) 4-H Community Leadership Award at the AMC legislative conference in St. Paul.

Each year, two 4-H clubs from Minnesota are recognized for an outstanding community service project. The Lake Mary Troopers received the award for a community service project at Nordic Meadows.

Nordic Meadows is an apartment complex for disabled adults with limited income. It allows them to live as independently as possible.

The 4-H members built and installed wood duck and blue bird houses around the property for the tenants to enjoy. They also built wheelchair accessible planters and planted flowers and vegetables for the tenants to care for and enjoy.

Future plans include expanding the number of planters and planting apple trees.

EchoPress News