Weather Forecast


Flurry of candidates file for city council, mayor, school board posts

Get ready for some lively local races for city council, mayor and school board positions throughout Douglas County.

The filing period for municipal and school offices ended on Tuesday and a flurry of candidates threw their hat in the ring for the November 4 general election.

Here’s a look at the races:


All three city council positions up for election are being contested.

In Ward 1, Shawn Olson and Jeff Tacker filed against incumbent Virgil Batesole.

In Ward 2, incumbent Roger Thalman is being challenged by Mark R. Pederson and Bob Kuhlman.

In Ward 4, Chuck Selander and William Stark filed against Dave Benson.


Two people filed for mayor – Daniel Plowman and Jeffrey Schiffman. Ervin Dahl, the incumbent, didn’t seek re-election.


There is a race for mayor. Challenger Terry Aasness filed against the incumbent, Ron Buse.

Three candidates are vying for two city council seats. Monica Olson is challenging incumbents George Belmore and Peter Mounts.


In Alexandria School District 206, Vern Engstrom and Jeremy Schneider filed against incumbent Alan Zeithamer.

Also, Bruce Campbell is challenging incumbent Sandy Susag.


Four candidates have filed for three at-large positions in Brandon-Evansville School District 2908. The district currently has 14 school board members and it is being reduced to 11.

The four candidates include Randy Bettermann, Shane Englund, Carol Juul and Andy Siira. They are all incumbents on the board. Juul is clerk. The top three vote-getters will win.

Also, Tonya Breitzkreutz is running unopposed for a special election at-large position on the board.

Al Edenloff
Al Edenloff is the news and opinion page editor for the Echo Press. He was born in Alexandria and lived most of his childhood in Parkers Prairie. He graduated with honors from Moorhead State University with a degree in mass communications, print journalism. He interned at the Echo Press in the summer of 1983 and was hired a year later as a sports reporter. He also worked as a news reporter/photographer. Al is a four-time winner of the Minnesota Newspaper Association's Herman Roe Award, which honors excellence in editorial writing.  
(320) 763-1236