Weather Forecast


B-E baseball gives out season honors

Brandon-Evansville award winners include (left to right) Brandon Christianson, James Huisman, Kevin Campbell, Christian McGaffey and Tom Bosek. Not pictured is Kevin Roers. (Contributed)

The Brandon-Evansville baseball team found plenty to celebrate with its team awards after finishing as co-champions of the Pheasant Conference with a 9-3 record.

Tom Bosek received plenty of recognition to go along with being named the Most Valuable Player for the Chargers this season. Bosek was named the Top Gun award for his starting pitching performances and also received the Silver Slugger award.

Brandon Christianson was named to two awards for the Chargers. He was recognized as Hardest Worker and honored with the Gold Glove award for his defensive play.

James Huisman received the Golden Spikes award, Kevin Campbell was named Charlie Hustle and Kevin Roers was the team’s RBI Champ. Christian McGaffey was also selected as the team’s most improved player.

Chargers head coach Brian Perleberg took some time to show his appreciation for the fans who attended their games after a spring filled with colder than average temperatures.

“There were many games where the weather conditions made it borderline miserable to sit and watch a ballgame, but we had many people who braved the elements to support Charger baseball,” Perleberg said.

The Chargers finished with an overall record of 14-9.

Blaze Fugina
Blaze Fugina is the sports editor at the Pierce County Herald. Before working at the Herald, Blaze was a sports reporter at the Alexandria Echo Press for one year and 10 months. He graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls in May of 2011. You can follow Blaze on Twitter at @BlazeFugina.
(715) 273-4334